We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier Hotel
Ranked #73 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely location and probably the best location in portree. Right on the harbor. Lovely staff and breakfast the following morning.

No real reception area, you wonder into the small (3m x 3m) pub next door and check in there.
Odd little pub, definitely for locals.

Room was great. all rooms have harbor views!!
Bathroom tiny.

No lift, so walked a few flights of stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2travel21985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
24
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Part of a tour of the highlands and a stay over that wont be forgotten. We asked in the bar about accommodation and were shown to a room with a view over the harbour. It was just magical, ok so it wasn't a travel lodge or the Hilton but you couldn't pay for the view or the character of the place. The bar was full of locals who made us feel very welcome, we had a great laugh, fiona even booked a table for us at a local restaurant. The room was clean, the sheets were fresh and the bed was comfortable, I was awakened by the sun streaming in my window at 5 o clock...no need for an alarm clock here...the breakfast was fresh and really tasty, kept me going till lunch time. I went to do some souvenir shopping and my wee blue pier hotel was on loads of things, coasters,cards,pictures ...you name it there it was...I bought loads and every time I look at them it brings back all the fun times I had on Skye .......

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view overlooking the harbour, it was stunning at sunrise and sunset...I fel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location in Portree, beautiful view of the pier! we stayed in the family room as it was the last one available for that night. Clean fresh towels, clean bathroom with shower, nicely decorated room. The room was large and the beds were made beautifully with very clean and cosy sheets.
I would say it has a the charm of a nice B&B. The breakfast was good with a selection of cereals or musli or a full cooked scottish breakfast and freshly brewed coffee or tea. However, there is no reception of that sort, which caused a bit of confusion, but overall a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazing location right on the pier with a view across the bay, it could have been terrific.

Unfortunately, it's nothing more than a run down hovel. Smoke stained walls, peeling wallpaper, fag burns on the beds groundsheet, no duvet cover, no pillow covers, and cramped (converted) accommodation. Barely enough room in the bathroom for a weak shower, sink and toilet. It was like sleeping in a cupboard. Considering the price for a one night stay, I'd say a total rip-off. You'd be more comfortable spending the night in your car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordMacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portree hotels

Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We did not stay here but used the public bar for a drink while waiting for a table in the restaurant next door(the restaurant on the harbour), such a wonderful place full of colourful characters and pleasant atmosphere, great selections of whisky's and beers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCurrie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
240 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel is a term I would use loosely. You enter by either a busy bar or tiny cafe. There is hardly room to get your luggage in the door as diners are sitting in the cafe area. I asked for a large room for a couple and was assured I had been allocated the largest room with a harbour view. View-yes. Spacious -NO. and two flights up with luggage!Parking is also a nightmare on the harbour with most spaces taken all day.The cafe is a lease from the 'hotel'. Dinner was not possible as residents are in competition with people passing by looking for a place to eat. Breakfast was tasty and the cafe staff were very attentive. The bedroom had a coombed ceiling on one side making it difficult to get in and out of bed witjhout bumping your head, also the ceiling light could be hit with your head too - if you are 6'+tall. You could not get into the tiny en-suite shower room without moving the luggage. In the shower room there was a glass shelf right over the wash basin that you could bump your head on when washing. Maybe a good place for small, fit, backpackers but otherwise not recommended.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms if the one we got was the largest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coylton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great place to stay.The hotel is in a beautiful location with stunning views.Rooms very clean & excellent cooked breakfast and dinner in the evening was also very good.Nothing is to much trouble for the staff whom are all very helpful and friendly.I see someone has mentioned not having an iron in the room but i am sure if they had asked, the staff would have arranged the use of one.I have to say i would stay here every time i visit Skye as all round very hard to beat for the price you pay.Thank to to all the staff for making my stay the best.Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portree
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tongadale Hotel
The Tongadale Hotel
#40 of 99 in Portree
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#4 of 21 in Portree
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#15 of 99 in Portree
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Property: Pier Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Portree IV51 9DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing