We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel but would not stay again.”
Review of Pier Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier Hotel
Ranked #72 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK hotel but would not stay again.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is in a lovely location, room was clean and would have had a good view if the window had not been misted up and not dirty. There was a funny smell as you came into the hotel too. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
24
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Went to Skye for the first time on 1st June & what must have been the best weekend/weather so far this year so cant really find anything negative to say. Pier Hotel was small & clean - we were in Room 7 with stunning views over the harbour & excellent cooked breakfasts. We had tried various places before booking the Pier Hotel. The room was adequate if a bit small & would have been good if it had an iron, as we were going to a wedding but we managed. All in all it was a decent place for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We rocked up on the off chance of getting a room as we happened to walk by. We had room 3. Small and bijoux but for the price it was the view that was well worth every penny. Lovely bar with friendly staff and locals and an amazing breakfast. All in all a lucky find. Great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were very fortunate to get the last available room in the Pier Hotel on our recent trip to the Isle of Skye. The room was newly decorated, spacious and had fantastic views of Portree Harbour. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is my favourite place in the world. The Pier is right on the harbour and the tiny public bar is frequented by local's who are the friendliest people I have ever met. If there are more than 10 people in the bar it is packed. This allows for friendly conversations and banter. The Restruant at the Pier serves the nicest food to be found on the Island. All the food is freshly cooked and all ingredients are sourced locally. Because it is an island there is a great selection of seafood on offer but also a good selection for non fishy people like me. The rooms at the pier are well equipt, clean and spacious and the views over the bay are breathtaking. This was our 5th year in the Pier and are already planning next years trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The only bad thing about staying in this hotel was we could only make it for one night. As a group of 5 adults we stayed in 2 adjacent rooms, with stunning views of the bay. Rooms had everything, including windows that opened to the outstide.
Enjoyable dinner in the dining room after a wonderful walk around the town.
Front bar very small, but got to meat lots of friendly locals, great atmosphere !!
Love to stay longer next time.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

On a recent visit to Portree we found this gem of a bar down at the harbour. Its a cosy wee place with a good mix of tourists and locals in the summer and still busy out of season. Everyone was very friendly and chatty and is by far my favourite pub in Portree as it has more atmosphere and is also in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGCD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tongadale Hotel
The Tongadale Hotel
#42 of 91 in Portree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 91 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Property: Pier Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Portree IV51 9DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing