We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Aros Centre

Aros Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Aros is a popular visitor attraction and community cultural centre offering exhibition, cinema, live music, comedy, dance, drama, theatre, galleries and workshops. With a family friendly restaurant, gift shop and children's play areas. Our current exhibition is about St Kilda. Remote, spectacular and one of only a few places in the world with Dual World Heritage Status for both its natural and cultural significance, St Kilda is an isolated archipelago of volcanic islands. The exhibition offers a virtual perspective of this remote archipelago which tells the dramatic story of a remarkable people and their life style. The interactive exhibition provides the opportunity to virtually visit the remotest part of the British Isles and includes an interactive walk around Hirta.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I call in Aros every time I visit Skye (which is every year); it has a lot to offer, but doesn't always make the most of that opportunity. It's as if it's not quite sure of itself, what it wants to be...a cinema, theatre, exhibition centre, information centre (although they couldn't correctly tell me where the Highland Council archive was located), book shop, gift shop and café/restaurant.

Well, as place to grab a bite to eat, especially on a rainy day, it's fine...although everyone else will have the same idea. The food is middle of the road, and value for money; the book shop is a bit hit and miss, very long on mainstream books about clan and family history, wildlife, walking, but a bit lacking on light reading...maybe it's not meant for that???!!!

I still call in, I always will, even though the WiFi is not as good as it used to be. But it can leave you a bit confused.

Thank Terry_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aros_means_Home, Public Relations Manager at Aros Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thanks for always coming back to visit Aros. Although we do supply a wide range of facilities, we're not technically an information centre. Our staff, of course, will always try and help wherever they can. We hope you found the Archive Centre in the end and saw their current art exhibition - the artist is the wife of Fred Schley, a dutch realist painter whose paintings are currently exhibited in Aros. If you're looking for a wider selection of books, you could visit Carmina Gadelica, the small bookshop in the centre of Portree, which is also part of Aros. Hope this helps and you'll visit us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

the Aros centre, just outside of portree, is great, some souvenirs to look at/buy and in season a film show of the sea egales. also a very nice cafe over looking a loch. I had the cheese tartlets, they where so nice we went back again on our last day.

Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aros_means_Home, Public Relations Manager at Aros Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Really glad you enjoyed your visit and the cheese tartlets. We've now extended our opening hours and serve food till 9pm, in case you ever come back to Skye!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stopped off her twice on our travels around the Isle of Skye. The food was lovely and had a little wait but they were busy this afternoon. Enjoyed our meals.

Second visit was for a cup of coffee and a cake and again good food.

Toilet facilities very good and very clean. Locals and tourists use the cafe facilities. There is a cinema and gift shop but didn't use. Great stop off before heading towards the top end of Skye

Café staff friendly

2  Thank A.MACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aros_means_Home, Public Relations Manager at Aros Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our centre, glad you enjoyed the cafe. Hope you had a good trip around Trotternish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were in Skye and by chance I saw a the drama production of Angus Weaver of Grass on in the Aros Centre .
I phoned a very helpful lady who got us tickets for that night, which we were able to collect on arrival.
The show was very well done and very well produced in the theater which was very warm and comfortable tho not very large.
As it was quite late when the show finished we only managed a quick look around the well filled book shop - a very good range and mix, but unfortunately the rest of the centre had closed.
Had we arrived during the day I'm sure we would have enjoyed the rest of the experience.

Thank Hazel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aros_means_Home, Public Relations Manager at Aros Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Great to see you enjoyed Horse and Bamboo Theatre's production - and to see some visitors got a chance to see an authentic show that proved very popular with our local audience. Thanks for reviewing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

A great centre, lovely restaurant with fantastic views. Sea eagle experience is very interesting and worth a visit.

Thank elmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aros_means_Home, Public Relations Manager at Aros Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Our RSPB officers were very pleased to here you enjoyed the exhibition - hope you had the chance to see one or two of these majestic birds whilst staying on Skye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aros Centre also viewed

 
Staffin, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Aros Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing