We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful.”

The Isle of Skye Soap Company
Ranked #2 of 10 Shopping in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We could smell this shop before we saw it, a wonderful floral smell filling the area around it, inside are loads of scented candles and candle holders and other crafts. We purchased a candle in a tin after smelling them all, my 7 year old daughter loved that and she made the choice. No paraffin wax but soya wax I believe (I may be wrong on the soya) but the candle gives off a lovely scent. Recommend you visit here if you go to Skye.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Torridon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good visit, enjoyed a laugh”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We dropped in here having seen the shop over the last few years. Good selection of relevant items. Worth a visit. Even the laugh over the card machine was worth the time!

Helpful?
1 Thank MuchtravelledIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Give the nose a treat”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent product range and cost comparatable. Lady on the till was very friendly and helpful. A few more tester would be helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Definitely worth a stop”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Tucked into an alley near the main square, this little shop offers an amazing array of soaps made on the property. The midge-repelling myrtle and heather actually helps, and it's easy to see why the zesty lemongrass is one of the shop's top sellers. Given our exchange rate, soap was about $8 per bar--so it's not cheap, but its nicely packaged and makes a good souvenir or gift. (If you're indecisive or your budget won't stretch quite far enough, there are also smaller samples available for less.)

The owner is friendly and seemed completely comfortable with browsers who stop in to try samples (there are creams and balms as well) without buying--so you needn't feel pressured.

The shop opens a little later than others in the morning, but it's worth the wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“I went on holiday to get away from TV Soaps.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife who is a Corry fan agreed not to watch any Soaps whilst on holiday. We walk around the harbour and my wife discovers the soap shop, she buys several items, when we eventually return to the hotel, the receptionist asks my wife if she found the soap shop?

This review is about The Cullin Hills Hotel, and what a fine hotel it is wonderful food comfy beds obliging staff and fantastic views over Portree Bay and harbour with the brightly painted houses.

We explore the Island and travel to Dunvegan Loch, when I visited the Kelvingrove Natural History Museum in Glasgow, there was a video of Sea Eagles diving into the sea at Dunvegan. It may be interesting looking at a video recording, but to see them performing their aerial ballet in front of your own eyes, first they glide around the sky and then swoop down skimming the waves until their talons flex out and every time catch a fish supper.

On a clear day I could see Benbecula on North Uist.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Isle of Skye Soap Company also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Isle of Skye Soap Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing