We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canowindra B&B
Ranked #6 of 97 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Canowindra House.

Rick and Georgie are excellent hosts. Their good taste is evident in the meticulous attention to detail one finds throughout their delightful inn. Our room, which had a king-sized bed and a large bathroom, was tastefully designed and exceedingly comfortable. And our breakfast was excellent, with hot entrees that ranged from a traditional Scottish breakfast to a less caloric, but equally delicious, free range eggs and salmon. We were sorry to leave the Canowindra House after only a one-night stay there. But as good luck would have it, we spent our next three nights at the nearby and equally outstanding Peinmore House, which Georgie’s parents own.

My wife and I highly and unreservedly recommend the Canowindra House. Like the Isle of Skye itself, it is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had two nights here, the house is very new, crisp and clean with good quality furnishings and linen etc. Our room was a good size with large bathroom. At this level of accommodation it would have been nice to have two chairs in the bedroom rather than one. The bed was very good so not too much of a hardship sitting on it! I also just felt it was lacking some warmth/character however to be fair this place is just getting off the ground so I am sure that will come over the next year or so. Georgie was welcoming and pleasant and we share a love of teapots! One final point it would have been nice to have more choice on the buffet table at breakfast. The cooked breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Canowindra in August. It is located just a short drive outside Portree. We were warmly welcomed by Rick and Georgie. They went out of their way to give us recommendations on all sorts of things (sights, restaurants, driving routes, etc). The rooms are beautiful- very Restoration Hardware like decor with vintage French accents. There were yummy homeade cookies in our room. The bed was very comfortable with luxury pillows/sheets. The bathroom was enormous with a giant clawfoot tub and nice ammenities. It was by far the nicest breakfast we had during our trip (large selection with homeade goodies). We had a lot of rain and wind during our stay, but the place was so beautiful-- we were content just staying in the room and watching movies! The is definitely a top B&B, and I would definitely come back! Best of luck with your little one on the way!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights (July 25-26 2013) with Georgie in her lovely new B & B which just opened a few months earlier. After a full day of hiking and exploring the Isle of Skye we returned to a room that was spacious, bed large and comfortable and the bath was full size making it easy for two adults to not run over each other! Recently built, she had the foresight to install a wider staircase knowing guests would be bringing large bags. Our morning meals were delicious and tasty. Very much a top of the line B & B....we will always make the Canowindra our first choice and send everyone your way that we can.
BTW~ Best Wishes on the arrival of your first child!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent nearly a week at the Canowindra on the Isle of Skye. Quite simply an excellent guest house. Rooms are spacious, modern and beautifully decorated. Bathrooms have a freestanding bath and a walk-in shower. There is also a comfortable lounge downstairs for guests to use. Anyway, enough of the boring stuff. The hosts are great and can't do enough for you and Georgie tirelessly works to make your stay enjoyable, even providing afternoon tea and cake when you return from a long day out. Breakfasts are also very good and satisfy every palate. Location is perfect, close to Portree for the restaurants but also very peaceful. It deserves its 5 stars since this is a top-end B&B. If we return to Skye, this would be our choice for a guest house.

Room Tip: Whispas- very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The atmosphere of this guesthouse on the Isle of Skye is so peaceful. Hosts georgie and rick made our stay very comfortable. The granola at breakfast was fantastic and Georgie printed out her recipe for us to make at home. Thus we can close our eyes and picture the mists surrounding the Isle of Skye while munching on granola. It is not in Portree but a 5 minute drive away in the country just to be aware. Very peaceful!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fishes room which was serene. Rain shower in bathroom and wonderful fragrant local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraS9152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent haven of peace and tranquility found in this bed and breakfast just outside Portree. Beautiful finishing touches make for a stay to remember.....Georgie's home baked cookies in your room and Granola for breakfast, comfortable but stylish en suite rooms and endless assistance from Rick and Georgie for all your Skye queries! We had an awesome one night stopover on our tour of Skye and would recommend without doubt to anyone after accommodation in the area

Room Tip: We stayed in Feathers! Cool taps, awesome shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
1.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
490 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canowindra B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canowindra B&B

Address: Canowindra Penifiler by Portree, Portree IV51 9LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range: $242 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canowindra is a beautiful B&B sitting just on the outskirts of Portree. A great place to stay and enjoy all that this stunning little island of Skye, in the Scottish Highlands, has to offer. All are very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canowindra B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canowindra B&B Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing