We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect base on a beautiful island”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Matthew G
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base on a beautiful island”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Bayview croft is a fantastic family-friendly cottage. The interior is very well appointed and the garden with the views over Portree loch is stunning. It is a great location just outside Portree which is an ideal centre from which to visit all parts of Skye. It is a truly beautiful island with incredible scenery and wildlife and this is a great base to see it from.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday on the beautiful Isle of Skye. We very much hope that you will be able to visit Bayview Croft in the future.
All the very best
Kind Regards Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield...
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

One of the best self catering places we have ever stayed. A beautiful house, spotless and well equipped in a stunning location. We absolutely loved it!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing - It was just perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at Bayview Croft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue-and-R...
South Range, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we had hoped for - and more.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved Bayview Croft! The accommodations were comfortable, clean and beautifully furnished, with many extra touches to make us feel welcome (such as the vase of flowers greeting us when we arrived). The setting exceeded our expectations with amazing views of the sunset looking across the bay to Portree. The garden was well-tended with lots of flowers and birds. It was a great location for getting to hiking paths, shopping or sightseeing; we enjoyed retuning each evening. Even when there were 5 of us for a few days we never felt crowded. Hannah was extremely helpful at every step - from making our reservation to meeting us on our arrival. We feel very lucky to have found this gem and hope to return!

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
Dear all
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We hope we will be able to welcome you again to Bayview Croft, and happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful
Isle of Skye
All the best hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDoran
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very Enjoyable.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely house in beautiful surroundings. Very clean. Living room on the smaller side for 6 adults. Would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review regarding Bayview Croft.
I hope one day you and your family will return to Bayview Croft
Many Thanks
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susiemore...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just what you need from a holiday cottage.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Warm and comfortable, well equipped house but not a lot of room for sitting when there are six of you. That wasn't a problem for us as we were out and about most of the time. Lovely hot water, good heating, everything we needed. Beautiful view, convenient but quiet location.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments
I am so happy you enjoyed our cottage and our beautiful Island
We look forward to welcoming you back
All the best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveO1959
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High quality accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The property is very well appointed and furnished to a high standard. It felt like a real home from home. Very warm and comfortable given the time of year.

It is short drive into Portree (just a few minutes) and has a great view from the garden across Loch towards the town.

We were lucky enough to see four Sea Eagles right above the house on our return from one of our days out on the Island.

We stayed with our 16 year old son during the October half term break which for us was the last week in October. That meant the Island was quiet (great!) but a couple of the things we would have liked to have seen were closed for the season as they shut after the Scottish half term which was earlier in the month. So if you are going from England in October you might want to keep this in mind.

We really enjoyed our stay at Bayview Croft and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jojam2013
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“felt at home-fantastic holiday”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, clean and well equipped croft within beautiful countryside, however it was easy to access the main town and shops a 5 min drive away. A great base to discover the rest of the island.
On arrival we were delighted to find milk,tea/coffee,biscuits,wine, fresh flowers and fuel for the log burning fire.
Could do with a spare stool at the breakfast bar-only 3.
The dry,sunny weather helped us enjoy the fantastic scenery from the garden of the croft.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the log burning fire
Liked least: the lack of seating in the kitchen to eat together
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2013
Hi
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Bayview Croft and hopefully one day you will return.
Many Thanks
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.