We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice relaxing cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hill Cottage

Looking out the loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking out the loch
The land, the sea and the sky The view to the side.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Looking out the loch
The land, the sea and the sky
The view to the side.
The view from the front looking out towards Harris.
Dining room
King size bed
Main bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Second shower room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sitting room fireplace
Dining room towards sitting room
Sitting room
entrance
totally private with a commanding view
more of the land, the sea and the sky.
up on the hill by itself
plenty room round the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
nanoq4
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice relaxing cottage”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Hill Cottage which was easy to reach thanks to a detailed description provided by the owner who welcomed us warmly over the phone. The place itself is cozy and extremely neat. The view from the windows is breathtaking and after a day of hiking one can enjoy a cup of tea at the fireplace in a relax chair. A car is a must though. The internet is fast, we didn't use the TV but it's available in three rooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it felt like coming home
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments about Hill Cottage. I am delighted you enoyed your short stay and many thanks indeed for leaving it spotless on your departure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings1234...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2014

Even though I went to this cottage 2 years ago, it was FABULOUS! It was my first time to Portree and I found this cottage and me and my dad booked and went here. First off the view was out of this world! Then when we went in and I loved how tidy and clean it was, also the view from the front room! Also the bedrooms were really good and the beds are really comfy also the shower was wonderful,Wifi was excellent and I wished could have stayed longer. But I might be going back this month so VERY happy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review. It is great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojostar4...
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is new with all modern ammenities, Nothing is missing. It was clean and tidy. We appreciated the comfortable living room with the fireplace.

It is a great place to stay to visit Skye, not far from principal road, but in a silent place.

And the owner Margaret is very friendly and easy to deal with.

We would return without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room with the fireplace to relax after a day of visit,
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
I am always very happy to hear that guests have enjoyed Hill Cottage and thank you very much for taking the time to let me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenwom...
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How was it you say? Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a beautiful holiday home, it was an absolute pleasure to stay at Hill Cottage. We pulled up outside after a very long drive and couldn't quite believe our luck, the cottage was just as described (if not better). It has every home comfort, the underfloor heating means it stays comfortably warm and the log burner gives the home a lovely cosy feel. The beds were comfy, the kitchen is well equipped and the leather sofas made it feel like so much more than a holiday rental.

Communication with the owner was excellent, Margaret was quick to respond to emails and called us on the day of our arrival to make sure we had arrived and that everything was OK.

We would go back in a heartbeat and hope to return to Hill Cottage in the very near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
Thank you very much indeed for your very kind comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. You are very welcome to return anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passion4f...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 star experience / felt like at home”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was our first time to Skye and we feel privileged to have an opportunity to stay in Hill cottage. Margaret, the owner was really helpfull and dealing with her was fast and easy. You can tell she really cares about well being of her guest.

The cottage is a brand new one and fully equiped. It really feels like home. On our arrival day everything was nice and clean and the little things, like wood prepared for the fire pit made our stay 5 star experience. We have previously stayed in many 5 start hotels but this cottage beats most of them.

Some of the cottages on Skye are in good locations but close to road etc which may be disturbing. Hill cottage is very well located in terms of island geography (some 8miles from Portree) and more importantly is on a very silent place with absolutely stunning view.

All in all, we cant recommend Hill cotage enough. It is absolutely great place to stay.

Margaret thank you very much and we hope we will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, view, felt like home
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I really enjoy hearing that guests have had a great time in Hill Cottage and Skye and appreciate you taking the time to let me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drsue3
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Brilliant property, clean and tidy and welcoming. Lots of extra touches to make you feel valued. Owner extremely helpful. Views over the Loch.
Excellent location close to Portree .

Couldn't fault it

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. It is lovely to hear that guests enjoy the cottage as much as I do myself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redspirit
Herts, England, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“4star cottage”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I thought the photos looked good for Hill Cottage, but actually they don't do it justice. It is a spacious cottage, very warm and soundproof (couldn't hear the wind and rain!) We had been looking forward to being snug using the woodburning stove, but didn't need it as the underfloor heating was wonderful warm. Margaret called once we'd arrived to make sure everything was ok, and was very helpful. The views from the cottage are fantastic, and everychanging with the variances of weather and tides.... and the sunsets are captivating. Didn't need the tv! The cottage is very well equipped, with basic items that make life much easier (tissues, tea towels, kitchen towel, cling film, foil, salt & pepper to name but a few). The reclining chairs were a fabulous way to relax after a day exploring the island, and it was a bonus to be able to pop our ipod into the base station. It was like staying in a welcoming home belonging to a friend, rather than the often felt sterile nature of rental cottages. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, underfloor heating giving even warmth throughout, reclining chairs
Liked least: Struggle to think of anything.... minor point - the duvet was almost too warm!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
Many thanks for you very kind review and the lovely sunset photo. It is lovely to know that guests enjoy the cottage, even in 'interesting' weather. I appreciate your comment about the duvet and there is now a thinner duvet for the warmer summer nights available.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing