We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portree Independent Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and as well as being right in the centre of Portree, the place also has the most amazing staff who seem to know EVERYTHING about Skye. Definitely worth staying here if you don't really know the island very well and need a few suggestions about where to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    73
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
41
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location, beds, showers, massive kitchen, helpful staff. Only problem was the lack of wifi but this was easy solved by the pub over the road where we would probably have gone for a pint any way. Loved this hostel and we would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blissyreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

enjoyed our stay here and found the staff very helpful. Cleanliness A+++ Location was central to the city centre and a skip to the bus stop. Great experience. Patrick and Gordon were both very helpful and accomodating.

Room Tip: we were on the upper level and didn't find it noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccione, Italia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff is great and the location is perfect! The hostel was a post office a ling time ago, but now it has multicoloured walls and comfortable beds! There isn't any breakfast, but the kitchen is really really big and clean!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Daly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed for two nights and enjoyed it. The staff are more than willing to bend over backwards to keep you informed, and comfy, the beds are good, it wasn't too busy so I had a room to myself. The kitchen is a goo social space with excellent kitchenware for everyone's use. I thought at 17.50 for the night it was good value. The only minor issue was the duvet was pretty thin for this time of year, but apparently I could have got another supplementary one from reception.
Overall very good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Portree Independent Hostel has a very central location, just a block downhill from the main square. The building used to be the post office, and as a result has various peculiarities which might make it difficult for a newly-arrived guest to navigate when drunk. Not that I'd know anything about that!

Pat, the owner, is very friendly, and a great source of local information. Although breakfast isn't included, there's free tea and coffee, and the kitchen is huge. In the TV room, do stop to make friends with Fish, the imaginatively-named goldfish. The dorms are carpeted and not crowded, with some (at least) having single beds as well as bunks. The drying room is a very useful feature, particularly in view of Skye's weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HibernophileBT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hostel is wonderful if you go here to meet nice people, get a decent amount of sleep and explore the Isle of Skye. The staff is nice and the hostel is very central, right at the town square. the kitchen is very big and is equipped with everything you may need to fix a meal. the store isn't far away either. would recommend it for anyone staying in portree.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiaE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#5 of 20 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portree Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portree Independent Hostel

Property: Portree Independent Hostel
Address: The Old Post Office The Green | The Green, Portree IV51 9BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Portree
Hotel Class:4 star — Portree Independent Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Portree Independent Hotel Portree
Portree Independent Hostel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing