We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viewfield House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Redwood House Hotel(Greshornish)
$286
$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunollie Hotel(Broadford)
$183
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$366
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree Hotel(Portree)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
165
81
9
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
81
9
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomstuffed animalshugh macdonaldfamily portraitsfamily homemacdonald familyold mansiongarden centrefaded grandeurbeautiful victorianlog fireisle of skyestately homeporridgepre dinner drinksother guestson display
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 266 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at this B&B in September 2012 just days before our wedding in Edinburgh. The old manor house is very unique and makes for a memorable place to stay (when we think back to our trip, 5 months later, this place definitely stands out as a great memory- and is worth booking for that fact alone!)

The reason I say the owner is quirky, we arrived just after check-in time and, understandably he asked us to move the car and directed us to park in the best way to fit in the most cars possible. We spent some time shuffling around luggage, so we could take in just an overnight bag instead of all our luggage for our 25 day trip. He insisted though that we go ahead and bring in both our large suitcases and wouldn't hear of us leaving any of it in the car. He took my suitcase from me, then proceeded to complain about how 'oversized' it was -- all the way up the stairs. I was mildly annoyed. Don't yell at me about my suitcase after YOU insisted I bring it inside! Despite that rant (and another rant about people who don't sign their credit cards as we were checking out, even though ours was signed...), we enjoyed our stay.

Breakfast was typical and served on very nice china in an amazing room. Nothing that stood out as far as food goes, but we were satisfied with it.

The property is so beautiful. We enjoyed the view out to the loch - -and the meandering path into town. I was a little worried about the walk into town, afraid it would be too far for an enjoyable walk, but it was fine.

If you're still searching for a place to stay in Portree, stop looking and book a room here. The price is worth it. Just don't say you weren't warned about the ranting owner :)

Room Tip: We had a huge room on the left side, upstairs, with a huge brass bed and clawfoot bathtub.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in the self-catering cottage for a week with my wider family. The cottage was nice and cozy once the fire was going and the cottage was well furnished! It being self-catering we didn't see much of the staff but when we did encounter them they were always extremely helpful! Wifi was provided although it required continual login which got a little annoying but other than that, an excellent place to stay.

I had an excellent time, so much to see in the surrounding area, the including the Dinosaur footprints in Staffin and the spectacular Kilt rock (Both a short distance by car).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Refined yet relaxed ambience; attentive, courteous staff; elegant, formal full breakfasts; serene and beautiful surroundings; cozy, well-appointed room: one could not ask for a more delightful sojourn. Upon arrival, we were personally greeted in the driveway and escorted on a tour of the house. There is an enchanting parlour with a grand piano and roaring fire for taking tea, reading, relaxing. Breakfast can be ordered from a menu and is served on crisp linens with china and silver in the breakfast room, with a cold buffet as well (fruit, yoghurt, porridge, cereals, oat cakes...) All rooms but one are en suite, (and that one has bathroom adjoining) and some have a view, but mine was in the back and was very quiet with charming decor. There is coffee service in the room and wi-fi. Everything was immaculately clean. With advance notice, dinner can be had, the appealing menu varying nightly. Afternoon tea is also available, as is room service. The house was built in the 19th century by Lord Macdonald, and has long been in the family of Hugh Macdonald, who has made his home most welcoming to guests. I look forward to many returns!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. Rooms with a view do have a higher tariff, but rooms in the back are lovely as well though mine did not have much of a view. The gournds are so pretty, the view from the room may not matter to you, as guests are free to stroll the area and enjoy the sitting room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the gardeners cottage for our honeymoon, we even had some wedding pictures in the grounds as they are do lovely, really enjoyed our stay great for dogs as lovely walks behind the hotel and space for them to run about behind the cottage, free wifi a wee bit patchy but get you only really get 3G in Inverness so you shouldn't complain as it was free, we managed to connect 3 devices with no issues. Thanks again Hugh and Iona ;-@

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazzabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Truly a beautiful hotel. Both hubby and I have stayed in many fabulous hotels but this is unanimously our all-time favourite. The building simply oozes with relaxed unpretentious elegance, decadence and charm. The atmosphere is heavenly. Our room was large and almost stately, but comfortable. The service was personal, without being invasive and our breakfast was delicious. We did not stay in for dinner as we already have plans, but we would like to go back for a few days to simply languish, and stay in for dinner, which we know will be excellent. Both the owner, Hugh, and the manager were friendly and charming. And the waitresses at breakfast were sweet and helpful. We simply can’t fault it!
Kudos to you Hugh!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fleurina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews