We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs an upgrade”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I understand that Portree only have its heydays during summer, so it must be hard to keep a hotel upgraded completly. However, when you charge £1300 for a night, then there must be some sort of a standard.
The staff is really nice. Warm and welcoming! The rooms, well they are somewhat outdated like the hotel as such, but had a nice little view over the harbour. The bathroom was average.
The breakfast was ok, but I have tried better in Portree, but again; Nice staff.
So all in all its the staff that makes this hotel worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    136
    103
    56
    42
See reviews for
64
212
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

When traveling with Real Skye 3 day tour in small van with driver Bill - if you have not done this trip check it out as it is great - we spent 2 nights in Portree (not at Royal Hotel). As my partner and I eat different foods we walked around the town checking out the different restaurants and finally landed at Royal Hotels restaurant looking out over the harbor. The food was varied, delicious and very reasonably priced with great beers. As none of the other places seemed to offer what we like, we returned with 2 fellow travelers the next evening again and like us they were very pleased as well.
I even asked for and was sent 2 weeks later in a self addressed envelope i had given them the really delicious mushroom in wine sauce recipe. suggested they start to sell it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cisela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I guess demand is everything when it comes to setting a room rate, which is a pity because the good things about this hotel are oblitereated in the room rate prices. For the prices being charged I would expect to be able to relax in the Spa or take some excercise in the Gym. Unfortunately neither were part of the set up. So take note you will get a room that is warm and clean and comfortable but you expect a room that is warm and clean and comfortable. For around a third of the costs if you book elsewhwere and plan in advance you can equally get a room that is warm and clean and comfortable.
The good things the satff were all friendly and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryLittlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was staying on business, working night shift. All the staff bent over backwards to ensure I got peace to sleep during the day. Yes there was an issue with the wifi, I mentioned it to reception and they were on the case immediately. Yes some of the facilities are a little dated - but who needs a huge tv when you only have to look out of the window? And yes it was a bit pricey, but this is Skye at the height of the season when any kind of room is hard to fid.

All in all, a very nice place, excellent food, and very friendly, helpful staff who simply couldn't do enough for their guests. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Reception was decrepid, like a left over from the 1960s. Dirty, smelly, a big very slow moving queue and a receptionist who did not know her job. We explained that we would be leaving about 7.00am to catch a ferry to the mainland, she said staff would be up and about and we could probably get some kind of breakfast. We got to reception at 6.45am to find a night porter who could not take our payment and who said reception staff did not start until 7.30am. We asked if he would tell them that we would phone with a debit card number when we were on the mainland. We did phone and the receptionist implied that we were doing a runner and we should have paid the night before, we suggested that they should have asked us to not told us that staff would be on duty.
Any way the room on top floor (no lift) way very nice with a lovely view of the harbour.
We had booked a table in the restaurant which turned out to be like a seaside cafeteria, plastic table clothes, tables too close together, young waitresses who seemed to be holding a competition to see who could wear the shortest tightest skirt and lots of families coming in through an outside door to try and get a table and then being told to wait a few minutes making it very crowded. I have to say the service was fast and the food was good, fantastic fish and chips the batter was scrummy.
It was very pricey for what it was £137 for the night, with no reduction if we had no breakfast.

Room Tip: The best rooms would be in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picman7096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portree hotels

Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

An excellent central location but the price did not match up to our expectation. I stayed with my wife & teenage daughter in two rooms which cost over 270 pounds for one night with breakfast. The Internet did not work & staff on the reception desk could not work the internal phone system. Limited toiletries & plastic cups were suited to a no star establishment. Overall very poor value for money. The one redeeming factor was the cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night during the summer in circumstances where accommodation was very tight in Portree.

Room was 60ish in style and decor but reasonable. Warning - our room was on third floor and there was no lift or assistance with the bags offered.

Was slightly a bit overpriced but had little choice in the circumstances. Breakfast was the good and adequate but not outstanding

Overall a reasonable average hotel and working pub.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
10.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing