We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value for money”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our allocated room was quite pleasant. It was spacious, well appointed and with an impressive en-suite, but on the ground floor with no outlook and immediately adjacent to the street. The room and corridor were bitterly cold on arrival and the bathroom felt like a fridge. The heating was not due to be on for 2 hours, so we were offered an electric heater to take the chill off. When the heating eventually came on only the top half of the radiator warmed but the lower half remained cool. There was clearly a problem with the CH system. The sole heating in the large en-suite appeared to be the electric towel rail.

We asked if we could have an alternative room, and were offered a room on the first floor, with a view! and warm! so we accepted this even though the total floor space was less than half that of our original room and the bathroom barely big enough to turn around in.

The dining room resembled a cafeteria and the room where breakfast was set the more so. The quality of food was extremely poor and there was a very limited range of choice on the menu. On our second evening we were offered the previous day's 'chef's special' menu whch only differed by the type of soup. The service and organisation in the evenings here were chaotic to say the least.
Throughout all of this, we have to say that we found the staff to be very helpful and cheerful and our room and en-suite were very clean on arrival and kept so during our stay. The restaurant staff in particular appeared to be very inexperienced.

Our overall impression was that this was a vastly overpriced hotel for the quality of service it provides. We will not be staying there again, nor recommending it to any of our family or friends..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your email, we are sorry you feel it is not good value for money, the ground floor rooms are quite a bit larger than the rooms upstairs, but at the time you seemed quite pleased with room size, if you had any problems with the service in the restaurant or the menu, you could have mentioned this to either reception or the head waitress, as nothing at the time was mentioned, we can only assume everything is ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 492 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

The reception area was kept in a very neat calm order. The receptionist was polite and helpful.

Or room had just been cleaned so as you would expect. No faults there.

We ate in the 'Well Plaid' the restaurant adjoining. Food and service was adaquit. But nothing spectacular, very much like the room, which Is why I gave the royal a 3/5

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillaryRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Other at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I will start with the good news was that on arrival they were happy to negotiate a discount on the room rate however it was still quite expensive for B&B when they are competing against some high standards in the B&B local trade.
The room was very dated. Example the TV was a 14 CRT! The decor was very 80's as was the furniture. The floor creaked with every step which must have been annoying for other guests.
The room was relatively clean.
The bathroom was functional but the shower was a complete nightmare, either scorching hot or freezing cold. I spent ages twiddling the taps but couldn't get the balance. The shower head was pathetic with a trickle flow, really poor.
Breakfast was pretty poor stuff to sum it up we both left most for it to be taken away.
We wondered why we were the only ones eating it, soon learned why?
The hotel needs to either drop its prices a fair bit or spend serious money modernising it. The food could have been an off day.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you have not enjoyed your stay. Did you mention your breakfast was so bad? I'm sure if you did we would have done something about it, If you were unhappy about anything in the room we could have dealt with it, had we known.
We hope you will return to Skye soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Made this trip with my friend. Situated on the front of the port we had a room with a view. This time of the year very peaceful which is just what we wanted. The bar served excellent food, I recommend the homemade steak pie.
Staff were very polite and helpful. The full English breakfast was in a word full!! There was nothing more you could have asked for.
Rooms very clean and bed very comfortable only thing was could upgrade the tv. When in Portree tv last thing you need but some might.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suncatcher26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy you have had a nice stay with us, * we hope to see you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband & i stayed there for 3 nights dbb, over "Valentines" weekend as this is also our anniverary. We have stayed at this hotel 4 or 5 times in the past, always at the same time of year, unfortunatley this year was a real let down. The main restaurant was closed, there was no special Valentine menu, we had to eat our evening meal in the cafe, where we also had our breakfast! The menu was pitiful!! burgers, steak pie & non exsistant mussles????, by the 3rd night the only "choice" we were left with was the burgers as they had run out of everything else! Their saving grace was our waitress who couldnt have been more helpful although she was embarressed at the poor choice! There was no entertainment as there had been in previous years and also no customers either as the place was empty, apart from one guy drinking on his own in the bar!!!!, this was in comparison to all the other pubs etc in the town which were lively & welcoming!!! The decor in the rooms is quite shabby and away from the bar, the rest of the hotel could do with a makeover! What a shame to see a great hotel with the best location empty! Dont think we will be back to the Royal again, but will stay elsewhere when we go back to Skye.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review I am sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us this time, Unfortunately, during the winter months we do have a reduced menu available to guests, and staffing levels are also reduced. If you required something special for your stay we could have organised this for you had you mentioned it to reception, or another member of staff at the time, we do hope you will return to our hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We came for supper, and to catch up on email etc using the hotel wi-fi. The food was standard pub fare, served in a large dining room. Service was prompt and courteous. Portions were generous and satisfactory quality. The beer was fine. Toilets clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

On my recent business trip away to Scotland I stayed at the above Hotel. As the title suggests I'd seen this Hotel on my previous trips and to be fair I thought it was a restaurant, and trying not to sound a snob a bit of a cheap restaurant at that. Let me explain. The restaurant has 2 sections, the first looks rather like a school dinner room, very clean but very functional looking too, then through this you enter the main dining area which also has the local bar there too, but quite pleasant nonetheless. I say this with an apology attached to it, as when i pulled up outside my heart did sink rather as i thought " oh no not this one". It was late and well I had no option. This is when it all changed. I have to admit the receptionist could have been a little more welcoming, she was helpful no question, but a spoonful of sugar wouldn't have a gone a miss, however I checked into Room 9 and although it was dark I could just make out the harbour so a promising view was on the cards the following morning, I had agreed to meet a work colleague for dinner at another restaurant, this turned out after walking from the car in horizontal rain to be closed. Serves him right I hear you cry!! Not completely wasted as the cellar bar downstairs was open and we had a pint with some smashing locals. Driving back to the Royal we got back in just after 9 to find the restaurant stopped serving food!! Dinner that night was salted peanuts and a few g&t's. By the time breakfast came i was starving. Breakfast was excellent in quantity, service and of course taste and served by a delightful older lady. So if your staying in Portree check out the Royal

Room Tip: If your planning on eating out and not in the Hotel restaurant. Be warned. RESTAURANTS DON'T ACC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank game_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
207 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
15.8 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range: $91 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing