We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portree
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Royal and loved every minute of it. The room was spotless with stunning views across the bay. The staff were friendly and efficient and a special mention to George the breakfast waiter whose knowledge of the area is second to none. His advice especially the trip to the Applecross peninsula was invaluable. The selection of food for breakfast was brilliant. Everything from boiled eggs, salmon, full English to basic continental...you name it and they will serve it to you. I think because of the large selection of fare available it took slightly longer to get served and this did upset a couple of people.
Overall I would strongly recommend this Hotel to anyone and say that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sycamore68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    134
    100
    52
    40
See reviews for
57
207
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Pleasant enough if in need of some refurbishment. Front facing rooms have excellent view of harbour and bay. 1 minute from shops and town square. Excellent breakfast. Friendly bar. Good restaurant as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardeer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our room is very old, stuffy and noisy (from the street). Definitely not worth £130.

Good thing is we managed to get a room with the harbour view, the hotel is clean and the location is good (free parking just across the street).

I was considering between Cuillin Hill Hotel and this hotel, but eventually I booked Royal Hotel because of it's location. It turned out that there were so many taxis available at the Portree Square, which I could have easily take to get to Cuillin Hill Hotel. Lesson learnt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portree hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Front rooms have beautiful views overlooking harbour. Choice of dining room or bar food with music provided in bar in evenings. Menus have limited choice but sea food is excellent. Rooms are bright and comfortable although decor is reminiscent of 70/80's. Could do with a lift although assistance with cases is available to upper floor. Situated in centre of town adjacent to harbour and shops.. Good value.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room on first floor - excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rslgmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great view from second floor bedroom. Looked over wharf area and down the bay. The room was clean but very ordinary. Had drinks and dinner in the bar. All ok. We parked in a small park about 100 metres away. This belonged to the hotel. The property is in a good location on the edge of the shopping centre and only a short walk down the hill to the wharf area where there are many restaurants.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We didn't plan on staying here but my mother and I were I'll and needed to disembark from our cruise early. The staff went way out of their way to help us get back to Canada as we were not quite well enough to do it on our own. They mass sure dinner was brought to our rooms even though it was well after hours by then. They called our insurance company to help book us a flight out of Glasgow. And they made arrangements for us to get on the next bus as well as going as far as walking us to the bus station with our luggage. When we arrived home in Toronto they had already placed a call to find out how we were doing. I was very impressed. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the location was in the centre of town. 2 thumbs up for the Royal Hotel and it's kind people

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterlingmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a pleasant little hotel overlooking the harbour at Portree on the Isle of Skye (bring your camera!). Being on the edge of the small town car parking can be a little tricky. Four spaces outside the hotel are at a premium but there is a small (7 car) private hotel car park near the Tourist Information building. Failing that, a free long stay car park is further out.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, but the floor outside my particular room was very squeaky. The hotel managed to repair a small fault in the bathroom with no fuss whilst I was working. There is a free wi-fi service, but this is only reliable in the reception area of the hotel.

Breakfast was wonderful; full of local produce.

Room Tip: Wi-fi only really good in reception and breakfast areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
17.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing