We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for exploring Skye”
other travelers have booked this property
Alderburn House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alderburn House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Alderburn House
The dining room.
The view from the lounge over the water.
The ground floor master bedroom with ensuite.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kimbrells...
Crossville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Skye”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We (2 couples) stayed at Alderburn House for 2 weeks. The house was spotlessly clean and quite comfortable. There is a beautiful view of the harbor and Scorry Breac from the front room. It is less than a 5 minute walk to town which is wonderful as parking in Portree is difficult at best. In our opinion this is the best rental on Skye!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of Alderburn House and it's great to hear you enjoyed it so much! Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilSteFra
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stop Over”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stopover in Portree and Alderburn is a fantastic location; just 500m from the city center, wonderful to walk there. The house is very spacious, the kitchen very large, the bathrooms plenty and the beds of very good quality

Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you for leaving a lovely review! It is very much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Me and my partner visited portree for a week . We were given directions' to Alderburn House and we found it very easily, It is situated 5mins walk from the center in its own grounds with plenty of parking space. Katherine the owner had left us the keys and a welcome pack with lots of info. The large kitchen has all the mod cons plus a tumble dryer and dishwasher which came in very handy. The main bedroom is on the ground floor and has a en-suite with two more double bedrooms upstairs, all have plenty of storage spaces. There is a toilet on the ground floor with the main bathroom upstairs, this has a large bath for two ( just what you need after a hard days walking) plus a shower cubical.
The living room overlooks the bay and on the first morning when we pulled back the curtains we both just stood there and smiled, we never tired of that view. The interior of the house is beautiful with every thing you require for a holiday, including towels, hairdryers, fully equipped kitchen. The gardens are well looked after and if your lucky with the weather lovely and private to sit in.
I cannot rate this beautiful house high enough and both me and my partner said we would love to live here. Katherine the owner phoned us to ask if there was anything we needed and was only a phone call away if we needed anything.
We hope to be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything Plus Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Love2expl...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Scotland is Awesome!”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

House is great for extended stay; enjoyed ability to walk into town and local stores without parking hassles. Large comfortable rooms with nice yard, view of water. Nice full kitchen with laundry. Negatives; decor outdated in master bedroom with small closet sized bathroom. Upstairs bath fine. Sink faucets ( one hot, one cold) in bathrooms. I would recommend this place for a vacation. Spent 5 days with 3 adult children ( all in their 20's) and had plenty of space loction for all needs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing