We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, peaceful location perfect as a base...”
other traveler has booked this property
June sunset from the Apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
June sunset from the Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
June sunset from the Apartment
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom
fitted units
Knott Cottage from headland
Our mature flower garden
Looking towards the Loch from our vegetable garden
The shore at Knott
Sunset from Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SamuelTri...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful location perfect as a base for exploring Skye”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment during March and were incredibly lucky with the weather - wall to wall sunshine for nearly our entire stay! Joyce and Brian were extremely welcoming and rang us on our way to tell us about some road closures which could affect our drive from Inverness. We would have arrived hours later without this information!

The apartment itself is light, clean, and has a lovely view over the loch. The lounge is spacious and quiet. A folder contains all the information you could need about walks and attractions around the island. Joyce also lent us some OS maps and binoculars which made our stay even easier. Sadly we didn't spy any otters or sea eagles but the loch near the house was full of seals and a lovely place to walk.

The location of the apartment is perfect for driving to all corners of the island (which we did!). It is the best value apartment we could find on any cottage rental website and that is with only 2 people staying when it can take up to 4.

We would highly recommend this rental and hope to return at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manisha00...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful, secluded and homely!”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at this accommodation for 2 nights in February. The apartment has beautiful views, overlooking the loch. It is comfortable and homely with great facilities. Joyce was very helpful in suggesting things to see and do locally as well as providing us with maps and information. We were fortunate to see seals that had come into the bay. We would love to stay here again on our next visit to Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongsin
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in the Isle of Skye”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for five nights in this nice,clean,very private place. My parents (Korean) really liked the very exotic view from the house. Each room in the apartment(?) has very large windows and has great views. We felt so relaxed while we were staying and it was very easy to cook our dishes cause all kitchen utensils were there. We'd like to go back someday and want to recommend to friends. In addition, we satisfied to the price as well. We did not leave any message to the owner since we had to leave very early morning but we really want to say thank you for good hospitality and letting us feel very comfortable during the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great view from the window
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BertaBail...
Glyn Ceiriog, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I traveled up to the Isle of Sky during amber weather warnings and a drive that should have taken 10 hours turned into 17. However, I was so pleased we persisted and finally arrived at Brian and Joyce's apartment because it was heaven.

The apartment is cozy and very comfortable, with all the extras we could have wanted, and everything clean and beautiful. We were even happier when we awoke the next morning to see the fantastic views and situation of the property.

We used the apartment as a base for plenty of exploring on this astoundingly beautiful island. The location was perfect for all the places we wanted to discover or revisit. It was always a treat to get back to get warm and dry, to have all the facilities required to cook as if we were at home and to play games or watch films together before having perfect nights' sleep in the superbly comfortable beds.

To top it all off, the day before our drive back home, about 15-20 seals came out to say good morning and my daughter and I went down to the loch edge to get our fill of watching them play, dive and watch us watching them.

Brian was warm and welcoming, always ready with a smile and a bit of pleasant conversation and information. Our only regret was not being able to meet Joyce, who was away in warmer climes.

We cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough and very much look forward to our next visit. I already feel as though another break is required ...

Thank you Brian and Joyce for creating, and sharing, such an exquisite home from home.

R. Bailey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to choose, but the views.
Liked least: Shower pressure.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy04
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pictures don't do it justice!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We drove from Doune to the Isle of Skye and were overwhelmed at the beauty around every bend. Joyce guided us in by telephone, and was waiting when we arrived. She was so sweet and hospitable...The apartment is adorable with lots of giant windows to look out over the loch! We arrived late, so just went to sleep without seeing our surroundings. What a glorious site awaited us in the morning...In front of the house is a beautiful green meadow filled with sheep, and then the ocean...Amazing! Joyce and Brian were wonderful hosts and it is obvious they have tried to think of every convenience to make your stay wonderful..They put together a giant 3 ring binder with tons of information about Skye and have even included info on scenic drives around the island. So much of God's glory to see there!!!! Portree is beautiful beyond words, with some VERY good restaurants.There are otters, dolphins, and an array of birds right in front of you!! The best part was Tobey, the 3 legged cat that i enjoyed seeing every morning and evening!! If you have any hesitation about renting this wonderful apartment, please don't.. The price is great and the hosts even better!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say!!! The view is probably it!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnthOmas2...
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“watched otters and porpoise from lounge window”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thank you to Joyce and Brian for their welcome and willingness to help with ideas, if needed.
The apartment was well equipped and located. Joy told us where to look for the different wildlife and we were delighted to observe (using binoculars) otters on 2 evenings and porpoise on another.
We used the walks set out in the apartment's folder and particularly enjoyed Rubha Hunish, the Storr and the Fairy Pools. We would also recommend The Brigadoon boat trip for observing sea eagles.
We brought a kayak, which we were able to launch on the bay loch.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaKrist...
Eskilstuna, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastisic place, could've stayed for months!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved our stay here! The lady who owns the apartment was so lovely and helpful, without ever being interfering or too much. The kitchen was fully equipped, meaning we could cook just like at home. We really appreciated the wifi which worked superbly. The apartment is really cosy and feels spacious. We borrowed the barbecue one evening and cooked with the most amazing view. Again, the owners were very helpful and extremely service-minded. The photos on here don't do it justice - the view over the loch is amazing. We went for an evening walk and saw seals. Very good location between Portree abd Dunvegan. Close to a play park for children. Very good value for money. We would travel from Sweden and stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing