We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleann An Ronnaich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gleann An Ronnaich
Ranked #4 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Veghel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a fantastic stay with Stuart. The B&B is clean, rooms are spacious and the shower was STRONG (something which cannot be said about every hotel in Scotland, haha). The breakfast was Marriott-Hilton style and we cannot recommend this place highly enough. Great value and excellent location close to Portree! If we are in the area again, we are definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillemLeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
135
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very good location to explore Portree - 10 min walk to the town centre. The breakfast was brilliant and the host is very friendly and informative. Also very good for people who want to explore Isle of Skye using hired car - the host has very informative litle purple book! Recommended for couple or family!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chengwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

When you chose to stay in a bnb you hope for local flavour. This has it nailed. Stuart is an interesting host who can provide you with lots of useful info. He is an excellent cook and the breakfasts are an absolute highlight. The rooms are clean, cosy and well equipped. We had a terrific time here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I can only recommend Gleann An Ronnaich. The location is absolutely great, the host is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and big. Breakfast is excellent too. I have nothing negative to say about my 3 night stay in Portree. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here in April for a visit to the Isle of Skye. We had a very comfortable stay and Stu was the most amazing host. He cooked us a great breakfast every morning and offered us great advice. He really added to our experience. We stayed for about 5 nights and had absolutely no complaints. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xsparkplugx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The breakfast here is first class with a huge array of food including delicious fresh fruit, home-made scones, piping hot cooked to order main courses all served with a smile and chat in the conservatory. This is a chalet bungalow in a very good location, quietly located about a 10 minutes walk from Portree centre and I had a ground floor bedroom with a separate private bathroom. Although Portree has numerous bed and breakfast establishments, they very quickly become booked up and it has been known for travellers to have to sleep in bus shelters after being unable to find a room. My advice is to check out this bed and breakfast, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echt, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My stay was just for 1 night as I was doing a road-trip. The sign is easy to miss as you drive by, but the place is still easy enough to find. It was possible to check in early and return to the B&B at any time. The owner (Stuart) even gave me some advice on places to visit. There is a beautiful walk in Portree that I normally would've missed. I got some great pictures there.

The room itself is relatively large with a large bed and very good facilities (TV, WiFi, coffee table). The pictures on this website will show you just how great these rooms are.
Stuart used to work as a chef and you can tell by the breakfast. There is plenty of choice and it is one of the best breakfasts I've ever had.

If I ever return to Skye I will definitely book at Gleann An Ronnaich again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.6 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#4 of 19 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann An Ronnaich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann An Ronnaich

Property: Gleann An Ronnaich
Address: Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann An Ronnaich 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gleann An Ronnaich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleann An Ronnaich Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing