We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb B&B”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tigh Mo Chridh B&B

Tigh Mo Chridh B&B
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tigh Mo Chridh B&B
Guest Lounge Twin Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Tigh Mo Chridh B&B
Guest Lounge
Twin Room
Double Room
River Snizort
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
pshryekew...
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Superb B&B”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Kate was an amazing hostess and the accommodations were superb! The location is perfect on Skye. The breakfasts were fabulous and the billiard table was a favorite for all. Kaye recommended some alternative activities for a stormy day that were spot on and the local Edinbane Inn had great local musicians and the food was out of this world. We hope to return again soon and will definitely stay here! Thanks for the great visit!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thanks so much Susan and come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnoming
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B near Portree”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful stay. Kate was a great hostess and the breakfast was awesome! The B&B had a great location and we enjoyed the common room when the weather was not so cooperative.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thank you for your review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyfisher...
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A few days in the mist”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Having eventually found the B&B we were given a warm welcome from Kate, although she was surprised to see that we had brought our dog. We have travelled all over Scotland with our dog and was convinced that we had booked her in with us. Nevertheless Kate said she could stay. We had seen on tripadvisor comments that dogs had previously been there, but now they are not welcome, and we were reminded of this the day we left, repetition for emphasise I think comes to mind.
The first impression of the house was that it was in need of updating, it looks very tired with dust and cobwebs around the window frames, and furniture well beyond it's sell by date. Kate said that the property is up for sale so the upgrading probably will not happen until new ownership. Our bedroom had a small en-suite, with a good shower, but a tiny sink with no hot water until after 8.00am so shaving was not easy. There was a towel rail above a radiator but no heat from that to dry towels. The bath towel provided was not bath sheet size and very thin.There are no tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom or TV and the bathroom window is unopenable. The extract fan struggles to vent the space. The lounge has a very small TV for the room size and no DVD. We were told breakfast is at 8.00 or 8.30 and it was very nice. The location is very good for exploring, and Kate's knowledge of the island is good.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Breakfast and location
Liked least: No tea/coffee in room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F
1 review
“Quiet comfort home.”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely family. Lots of little extras. Clean comfortable room and delishous breckfast.
It is in walking distance of a beautiful golf corse and some of the finest fly fishing in Scotland.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon M
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Quiet location. Well appointed room in the eaves which may be difficult if not mobile. The guest sitting room was lovely. Light with a pool table, coffee tea etc.
The breakfasts were excellent with a large menu.
Our hostess was welcoming, recommended places to visit, to eat and even booked tables for us.
The area is lovely with lots to see and do the highlight being the boat trip to see the Dolphins and sea eagles. The restaurants in Portree are exceptional.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Thank you so much Gordon and so happy that you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
444franki...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was my first time on the Isla Of Skye. I must say the weather this time of year is not the best. But I will say the accommodation was great and the owners were great. Wi-fi was good, plenty of tea or coffee whenever you needed it. My room was very cosy and very clean.
The owner knows all the best locations to visit which is useful if you have never been before..
Just have fun.....Isle Of Skye has plenty of it.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferryport...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 day stay in Skye”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spent 3 great days in Skye at this lovely B and B just north of Portree on the Dunvegan Road.
Kate was a great hostess and gave us good ideas for day trips, eating out etc. The breakfasts were very well prepared and presented. Dog friendly and Kate made our dog feel most welcome. Rooms very neat and clean and nice to relax in. Special thanks for the bag of rice which resuscitated my phone after a hosing on The Quiraing!! Highly recommended. Thanks again Kate and family.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing