We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for non-vegetarians, too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye
Ranked #35 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent choice for non-vegetarians, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed two nights in September, and it was the perfect welcome to Skye. Sam is a fantastic cook and we thought the breakfasts were among the best we had the entire time we were in Scotland.

We are not vegetarians, but both of us agreed that the "sausage" was delicious, and it's impossible to beat the freshness of eggs from Sam's hens. Fresh-baked bread is accompanied by homemade jams (she makes delicious Earl Grey marmalade and rowanberry preserves)--and we even sampled local honey from her friend's beehives.

And let's not forget the treats! You get a fresh supply every afternoon, and if you're really famished from your walks, there is a constant supply of cereals and a jug of cow's milk in the fridge to tide you over. (Soy milk is on offer as well.)

The best part, though, is the enthusiasm Sam has for Skye--she truly loves it, and she's keen to be sure you have a great time. Toward this end, Mark is a huge asset. He took time before heading off to work to orient us to a couple of lesser-known drives on the island, and they turned out to be highlights. (He's also a great story teller--and I'm convinced he has no idea how entertaining he is.)

We had a great time and we'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There is only one room. Note that there is a small storage area between the main house and the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights with Mark and Sam at their lovely B&B on Skye. The room feels like it is detached from the main house having it's own entrance and is not overlooked by the main house. Sam and Mark also let guests have their own space and the windows look out over rolling green fields. Just outside the guests room, Sam & Mark have encouraged birds into the garden and we spent every breakfast watching the acrobatics of the various finches on the feeders which was nice to wake up to. The room itself has a large comfy double bed, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a separate bathroom with a legendary drench shower, just what you need after a day on the hills. The bathroom was also stocked with a lovely selection of Scottish soaps and towels for the guests. There is some hanging space for clothes and the breakfast table folded down to give more room to get about in the room. Mark was very familiar with the Island and advised us on a couple of walks to try. There are O/S maps for guests to use which were very appreciated. Sam too was very helpful and coming back after a long day walking to one of Sam's yummy cakes was always a treat. The breakfasts were delicious with everything freshly cooked and suiting the vegetarian diet. We tried the cooked breakfast the first morning but found it too filling, yet there was plenty of other interesting options to try. It really did set you up for the day. Situated about 4 miles from Portree it is an ideal base for exploring the north of the island, in peaceful and relaxing surrounding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Major_Jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was just what we were looking for. Lovely cosy room, super clean and neat but with lots of character. Views out of the windows were lovely, especially watching all the wee birds in the tree by the front door. Breakfast delish, as were the cake we came home to each afternoon. Sam is a fantastic host. If we go back to Skye...which is likely.... we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine_Yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We decided to spend the whole of our one-week stay on Skye based in one B&B and we are so glad we chose to stay with Sam and Mark. A few of the highlights were the comfortable accommodation, the superb breakfasts and the hosts' friendliness and helpfulness.

We eat very little meat and were attracted by the vegetarian breakfasts. First of all, there's the wide and imaginative choice, which meant we tried a different one almost every day. If you're after food that is both tasty and made from high quality ingredients then this is the place for you.

It is worth pointing out that this B&B accommodation is a little different from the norm in that the bedroom has its own outside door and breakfast is served in the room. This gives a sense of independence to the guests and means that our presence was less intrusive on our hosts' family life. The system worked well for us and Sam and Mark were always on hand if needed. The room is on the small side. Whilst it was perfectly adequate for our needs, it would not be comfortable to fit in anyone extra, unless they are happy sleeping in a cot.

At 4 miles outside Portree we found the B&B's location convenient for exploring all corners of the island. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Mathias, Québec
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sam's private room B&B, barely ten minutes drive from Portree, was a delightful experience in the wide open spaces of the Isle of Skye. We enjoyed the private entrance and garden, the fabulous vegetarian and vegan breakfasts served in our room every morning and our chats with Sam. She is also a wonderful source of information on the island. By late afternoon, every day, we found a some home baked cake and fresh flowers waiting in our room. This special personal attention was touching and memorable. Looking forward to going back again. Soon we hope.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife is a vegetarian, and I am still omnivorous, but certainly did not feel like I was missing out. Had delicious, homemade breakfasts each day, delivered to our apartment - which had its own door so that we didn't need to go through the main house. The scenery from our room was picturesque farmland. Sam the hostess was very helpful and friendly (she's done most of the hikes herself), plus the room came equipped with guide books and maps of Skye.

Only caution is that before you go, study a map. The sign is only one sided and none of the houses are numbered. We passed the sign from the backside, and ended up a bit lost.

Would definitely stay here again. Sam makes the most delicious baked goods.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loweswater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sam makes really lovely breakfasts to start your day. She and Mark were very welcoming and their accommodation is very conveniently placed for exploring Skye. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. However, as we were travelling with our two retriever dogs we did find the size of the room rather restrictive for our needs, especially as breakfast is served in the bedroom and not in a separate dining room. We did have slight difficulty locating the B&B from the main road due to lack of signage, but just turn at the school sign and it is the first house on the right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
14.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marmalade
Marmalade
#46 of 99 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 4 in Dunvegan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clachamish House
Clachamish House
#3 of 19 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
4.2 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#4 of 19 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye

Property: The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye
Address: Schoolhouse 6 Carbost | Skeabost Bridge, Portree IV51 9PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and pamper yourself in our Luxury Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast on the dramatic Isle of Skye in the Highlands of Scotland. Our 19th century former crofthouse is beautifully located next to the River Snizort, with open views over the hills and beyond plenty of walks from the door. We are perfectly positioned central to Skye and only 4 miles from Portree, the Island's Capital, with its range of shops and places to eat. We are both on hand to help you get the most out of your stay on Skye and can offer you lots of tips on places to visit, walk, eat and drink on the island. Mark is particularly handy with a map and knows plenty of walks to suit all abilities. Sam is an imaginative and experienced cook, with a keen eye for interior design. We are both committed vegetarians, however we welcome those who might just want to reduce their meat intake, and you will also find our menu boasts a really good range for our Vegan visitors. Our aim is to give you an enjoyable and relaxing, yet ethical visit to Skye. Sam and Mark Crowe, proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B On Isle Of Skye Portree, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing