We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, lovely hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye
Ranked #28 of 95 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We decided to spend the whole of our one-week stay on Skye based in one B&B and we are so glad we chose to stay with Sam and Mark. A few of the highlights were the comfortable accommodation, the superb breakfasts and the hosts' friendliness and helpfulness.

We eat very little meat and were attracted by the vegetarian breakfasts. First of all, there's the wide and imaginative choice, which meant we tried a different one almost every day. If you're after food that is both tasty and made from high quality ingredients then this is the place for you.

It is worth pointing out that this B&B accommodation is a little different from the norm in that the bedroom has its own outside door and breakfast is served in the room. This gives a sense of independence to the guests and means that our presence was less intrusive on our hosts' family life. The system worked well for us and Sam and Mark were always on hand if needed. The room is on the small side. Whilst it was perfectly adequate for our needs, it would not be comfortable to fit in anyone extra, unless they are happy sleeping in a cot.

At 4 miles outside Portree we found the B&B's location convenient for exploring all corners of the island. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sam's private room B&B, barely ten minutes drive from Portree, was a delightful experience in the wide open spaces of the Isle of Skye. We enjoyed the private entrance and garden, the fabulous vegetarian and vegan breakfasts served in our room every morning and our chats with Sam. She is also a wonderful source of information on the island. By late afternoon, every day, we found a some home baked cake and fresh flowers waiting in our room. This special personal attention was touching and memorable. Looking forward to going back again. Soon we hope.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife is a vegetarian, and I am still omnivorous, but certainly did not feel like I was missing out. Had delicious, homemade breakfasts each day, delivered to our apartment - which had its own door so that we didn't need to go through the main house. The scenery from our room was picturesque farmland. Sam the hostess was very helpful and friendly (she's done most of the hikes herself), plus the room came equipped with guide books and maps of Skye.

Only caution is that before you go, study a map. The sign is only one sided and none of the houses are numbered. We passed the sign from the backside, and ended up a bit lost.

Would definitely stay here again. Sam makes the most delicious baked goods.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sam makes really lovely breakfasts to start your day. She and Mark were very welcoming and their accommodation is very conveniently placed for exploring Skye. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. However, as we were travelling with our two retriever dogs we did find the size of the room rather restrictive for our needs, especially as breakfast is served in the bedroom and not in a separate dining room. We did have slight difficulty locating the B&B from the main road due to lack of signage, but just turn at the school sign and it is the first house on the right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had a lovely 2 days on Skye staying at the Old Croft House. Sam is a great host and certainly makes you feel welcome. The room was very clean, comfortable and cosy. Breakfasts were delicious. The view from the room was beautiful. The extra little touches made it special, such as the bird feeder just outside the room, where we saw a variety of birds, the lovely homemade cakes left for us in our room, and the supply of environmentally friendly and cruelty-free toiletries to use. We would definitely recommend this place.
Allison

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Even though the weather was not the best the welcome was great! Sam and Mark were friendly and both had a good sense of humour, they were helpful about places to eat for veggies. The lay out of the room was excellent, I liked the separate door in and out - it meant we didn't feel we were disturbing the family when comimg iin and going out. And the breakfasts!!!! Pancakes - beautiful, golden and fluffy with fresh fruit, syrup, yoghurt, toast and homemade jam. Their take on Knickerbocker Glory was muesli layered with fruit and yoghurt, again delicious. And two choices for fry ups - mmm: homemade vegetarian sausages with homemade baked beans, fried free range eggs from their own chickens or a vegan alternative with a huge field mushroom instead of an egg. Fantastic! Lots of places to go, stand outs were the Wee Cosy Tea House for hearty warming soup and tea and cake (www.smallandcosyteahouse.co.uk), Café Arriba for reasonably priced healthy and filling food and again CAKE!!! (www.cafearriba.co.uk). The Old Man of Storr (Rain, hail, snow, sun, wind, freezing, boiling on the way up and on the way down),spectacular views, the Quiraing and everything else on The Isle of Skye. We will be back.

Room Tip: Secluded and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AileenMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two nights at Old Croft House and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Sam was a perfect hostess, and the food was fabulous. Only reason not five stars is we are not light travelers and the room was tight with our bags, but not a deal breaker. For the location, food quality (delicious breakfasts!), and great service, I would be happy more than happy to return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nighthawkjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
4.1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
245 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#12 of 95 in Portree
306 reviews
4.3 mi away
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
#33 of 95 in Portree
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
469 reviews
4.3 mi away
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 95 in Portree
83 reviews
10.8 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye

Address: Schoolhouse 6 Carbost | Skeabost Bridge, Portree IV51 9PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range: $27 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and pamper yourself in our Luxury Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast on the dramatic Isle of Skye in the Highlands of Scotland. Our 19th century former crofthouse is beautifully located next to the River Snizort, with open views over the hills and beyond plenty of walks from the door. We are perfectly positioned central to Skye and only 4 miles from Portree, the Island's Capital, with its range of shops and places to eat. We are both on hand to help you get the most out of your stay on Skye and can offer you lots of tips on places to visit, walk, eat and drink on the island. Mark is particularly handy with a map and knows plenty of walks to suit all abilities. Sam is an imaginative and experienced cook, with a keen eye for interior design. We are both committed vegetarians, however we welcome those who might just want to reduce their meat intake, and you will also find our menu boasts a really good range for our Vegan visitors. Our aim is to give you an enjoyable and relaxing, yet ethical visit to Skye. Sam and Mark Crowe, proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B On Isle Of Skye Portree, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing