We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye
Ranked #27 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great stay!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a great stay at The Old Croft House. The location was perfect for seeing the Isle of Skye. The room was very clean and the breakfasts were a great start to full days of hiking and sightseeing. We enjoyed the freshly baked treats in the afternoons and Sam had good recommendations for restauraunts and things to do. Will be back if we're ever in Skye again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay in this lovely B&B especially following our previous nights accommodation on Harris. Sam is a great host and made us feel very welcome. The room is stylishly and tastefully decorated in pastel colours, it is well equipped and has a comfortable bed which looks out over a private garden. Good to be given fresh milk and not those awful sachets of longlife or UHT milk provided in so many B&Bs. The bathroom has a large rain shower which is a great awakener in the morning!. Breakfast was excellent served in the room with eggs from the chickens outside the house and great coffee. We followed Sam's recommendation and ate in Arriba Cafe in Portree - it was good food, both veggy and non-veg. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subandean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Sam and Mark have a lovely B & B only 4 miles from Portree which is very convenient with lovely views and very friendly hens. Vegetarian breakfast was something to look forward to every morning. We went for a wedding reception but hope to return soon.

Room Tip: As the only have one room and the area is very quiet it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Thank you so much to Sam and Mark for making our short stay on Skye fantastic. The attention to detail in our little sanctuary was second to none, you are the only guests for the duration of your stay. There is a lovely warm welcome when you arrive, your accommodation is spotless and tastefully decorated. The rain shower is fabulous! You make your choice from an extensive list the night before for your breakfast, we loved the porridge, which we enjoyed while watching all the birds on the feeders in the foreground and uninterrupted countryside beyond. We enjoyed a boat trip out of Portree (a first for the dog!!) and saw Great Northern Diver, seals, puffins and (yes!) Sea Eagles!! There were deer in the field behind the B+B at dusk and dawn we also heard black grouse and a cuckoo. While driving around the island we saw Golden eagles from the car and even an otter one evening. All this and lovely homemade vegan cakes waiting for you back at the Croft House, we've booked for same time next year already, but for longer this time. Lisa, Phil and Bailey (dog)

Room Tip: Just book this, you will enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loops11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

As a honeymooning couple in our early 50's (with one non veggie) we read these reviews & thought surely not possible. However we can now confirm after a 5 night stay that these rave reviews are all true. Sam has created a romantic idyll in a location that is peaceful with beautiful views over rolling countryside .You can feed her chickens with left over toast as the breakfast is both filling and fantastic and will set you up for the hill walking. It is an excellent hub for exploring Skye with Sam only too happy to provide tips and guide books . It is a small but cosy modern room with a spacious shower and your own separate entrance . Sam also provides lots of little surprise extras that are quite delightful.Enjoy the silence as the moonlight from the arched window above the door tracks across the floor. Only finches on the bird feeders hanging from the fir tree outside the door need wake you in the morning . Fiona & Mike

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We said we'd go back & we did. The same warm welcome from Mark & Sam. Fabulous breakfasts & great choice. Yummy vegan treats to come back to! This time we saw deer & hares from the window. We found hidden Braes beach & Talisker Bay... Both amazing, sheltered & sunny & walked for hours at Coral Bay including over to the little island! We were kept amused by the frolicking seals & saw too many birds to mention including Oyster Catchers, buzzards & 8 pairs of swans on 1 small stretch of water! Plus entertainment from all the birds feeding right outside the window! Thanks to Mark we spent Sunday afternoon in Edinbane Inn listening to locals play fabulous Scottish music & enjoyed an amazing veggie 'burger' alternative at 'The Real Food' on our journey back! Thanks to Sam for the gorgeous soda back! Be prepared we will be returning many more times!
Pam & Aisha

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennekom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Some dreams come true some don't. This beautiful place in our dream became reality.
After arriving Sam gave us a warm welcome. She is so enthusiastic and friendly. The room is clean and has a nice and warm atmosphere. The rainshower is the finishing touch. When you wake up in the morning by the sun rays, you have a beautiful view from your bed and listening to all the little birds in the tree in the front of the room.
After that you'll get a overwhelming home made breakfast.
One of the best B&B's during our stay in Scotland
On a scale from 1 to 10 we put a 11
ps. we recommend the vegan cake

We will be back some day
Greetings from Holland
Ursula and Jean-Paul

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-PaulenUrsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
4.3 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
312 reviews
6.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
#40 of 91 in Portree
77 reviews
5.5 mi away
Peinmore House by Portree
Peinmore House by Portree
#22 of 91 in Portree
199 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clachamish House
Clachamish House
#3 of 21 in Portree
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye

Property: The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B on Isle of Skye
Address: Schoolhouse 6 Carbost | Skeabost Bridge, Portree IV51 9PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and pamper yourself in our Luxury Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast on the dramatic Isle of Skye in the Highlands of Scotland. Our 19th century former crofthouse is beautifully located next to the River Snizort, with open views over the hills and beyond plenty of walks from the door. We are perfectly positioned central to Skye and only 4 miles from Portree, the Island's Capital, with its range of shops and places to eat. We are both on hand to help you get the most out of your stay on Skye and can offer you lots of tips on places to visit, walk, eat and drink on the island. Mark is particularly handy with a map and knows plenty of walks to suit all abilities. Sam is an imaginative and experienced cook, with a keen eye for interior design. We are both committed vegetarians, however we welcome those who might just want to reduce their meat intake, and you will also find our menu boasts a really good range for our Vegan visitors. Our aim is to give you an enjoyable and relaxing, yet ethical visit to Skye. Sam and Mark Crowe, proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Croft House Vegetarian B&B On Isle Of Skye Portree, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing