We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The View Restaurant

The View Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Price range: $17 - $36
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cuillin Hills View Restaurant offers diners one of the best views on Skye whilst enjoying high quality local Scottish Produce - including an extensive range of Seafood dishes.We pride ourselves on offering our customers a friendly, relaxed and excellent value dining experience.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place for dinner on a sunny evening as it was our last night on Skye so we had intended to have a few drinks outside looking out across the fantastic view. Unfortunately the midges put a stop to that so we had a drink inside instead! 2 from our party had eaten here the night before and recommended we all try the place.

The hotel and restaurant look lovely, with tasteful decor and smartly dressed staff. There was a good selection on the menu, and I chose as follows:

Starter: Vegetable Soup
Opinion: tasted ok, was a bit bland but then again vegetable soup is never going to be that exciting is it!

Main Course: Lamb
Opinion: dissapointing, the lamb was very tough / dry. Wish I had gone for the steak as others had this and it looked excellent.

If I ever return to Portree I'll probably try this place again just to see if it was a one off that the food wasn't excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salo_K-Bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The view was amazing and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good as well. The whole restaurant was very nicely furnished and hat a great Whisky bar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worth every penny!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Cuillin Brasserie is an outstanding place to dine. Myself and 3 other adults and 1 child visited the Cuillin Brasserie during our recent holiday and upon arrival I was slightly concerned that maybe this wasn't a place for children....However, the staff were more than happy to seat us and even interacted with our daughter who is almost 3 years old. We were offered drinks and they were bought to us and we were left for just long enough to view not only he stunning menu but the beautiful Portree harbour. Our waiter was friendly and asked us if we had any questions about the menu. we paced our order and for the next 90 minutes were we treated to some exceptionally tasty food. The staff were all welcoming and extremely accommodating and when our daughter started running around screaming at the top of her voice, no-one seemed to bat an eye lid....Loved every aspect of this visit and we will visit again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank proudtobemrsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bit Pricey but the Best View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This lovely restaurant high on the hill over-looking Portree Bay features huge windows with the best view in town. The restaurant, being in an upscale hotel, is a bit above the other restaurants in price but if you want a special treat, this is the place. The service is very good, the food is top-quality modern cuisine, and features local seafood and fish plus other Scottish food. If the weather is good, go for a drink on the lawn and then enjoy the evening here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food no match for surroundings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were a party of eight, all of whom had eaten here many times over the years. The surroundings are great: the views are magnificent, the ambience in the restaurant very good and the service fine.The food lets it down. A bruschetta starter was served on a soggy doorstop. Lamb and steak were overcooked, the rainbow trout disappointing, the venison tasteless. Generally disappointing. There is a lot of competition in Portree for good food: this one doesn't match up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank broad6bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant also viewed

 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing