We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like family, we'll be back”
Review of Tarven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarven B&B
Ranked #44 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt like family, we'll be back”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights with Maria and Jerry and can not recommend this B&B highly enough. Everything was brilliant, the room, the breakfast and the the sitting area are all 5 star quality. As for the hospitality, there is not a high enough star rating. This is a home where you are invited in to spend some time with caring beautiful people while you are on holiday. Tarven is a holiday destination on its own. Thank you, we WILL be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not only is it an excellent accommodation on Skye but we had other experience as well. We were 4 of us, it was almost evening, B&Bs full and Maria had only one double bed room available. As the accommodation was really beautiful with very friendly atmosphere we agreed that my parents would stay there and I and my husband would go to find something else for us. after spending another hour driving around and looking for accomm. we came back for my parents to take them for dinner and than continue to look for somewhere to spend the night. When Maria saw us again still without the roof over our heads she didn't hesitate and offered us her daughter 's bed room with only charge for breakfast /we had our sleeping bags with us/. We felt so relieved that we couldn't thank her enough! She is so patient and helpful with anything you can imagine and so is her husband. We would definitely go there again and I hope we will come once.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at many B & Bs on our UK holiday and consider our 2 night stay at Tarven to be the most comfortable and enjoyable. Maria and Gerry are warm, friendly and hospitable hosts and go out of their way to help their guests - from providing information on Skye’s top spots and the best places to eat to adjusting room temperatures to suit individual needs! Our room and ensuite were clean and attractive and a variety of good food was provided for breakfast. The Isle of Skye is a special part of Scotland and Tarven is the perfect base from which to explore its beauty,. Thank you Maria and Gerry for enhancing our “Skye” experience. Hope to see you again one day.

Room Tip: Choice of B and B or self contained cottage available,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for two night at the Tarven B&B. The house is beautiful. Everything is new, clean and spacious. Maria was a welcoming host - thanks for organizing the rental car and giving us a ride to the bus stop! She also gave good hints for places to eat, both we tried were perfect. Breakfast was very good, it is served in a cotinental style offering a large choice of meat and cheeses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernadetteMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in Tarven B&B for a few days in August 2012. Maria is a lovely landlady and she helped us ever so much were necessary! For instance when we needed a B&B on North Uist she made the phone calls for us. Free of charge! The room was very comfortable with tv en free wifi (good reception as well). Bathroom was ensuite. All is very tidy and clean. Towels changed every day.
Maria also gave us good advice where to eat in Portree.
All and all we had a great stay and I recommend here to anyone visiting Portree.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Willem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the lovely Tarven B&B. Maria was very welcoming and friendly, and happy to help out with any questions. The room was clean and comfortable, and we made good use of the lounge area provided for guests, which overlooked the garden. A good location - just an easy 10 minute walk into Portree, and a nice range of fresh meats, cheeses, fruits and more at breakfast. Would definitely recommend and would stay again - thanks Maria!

Room Tip: Ask for the double at the front - although they're all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for a week in the self-catering cottage attached to the main house. What a lovely place to stay! Everything was there-it was beautifully clean and really comfortable. My teenage son loved the wi-fi and my husband appreciated the Sky TV. We had amazing weather too. Maria was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen had everything to make a self-catering holiday as carefree as possible. Breakfast on the patio was awesome and evening strolls into Portree perfect!

Room Tip: Great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madame_droite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.5 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
17 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.3 mi away
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 91 in Portree
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 91 in Portree
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
#43 of 91 in Portree
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Givendale Guest House
Givendale Guest House
#63 of 91 in Portree
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarven B&B

Property: Tarven B&B
Address: Tarven Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tarven B&B Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing