We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely views”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Got a good deal and thoroughly enjoyed our night in very comfy beds in lovely warm hotel with the most fantastic view from the breakfast room. Really worth a visit. Very nice welcome from the pleasant staff at reception and in the bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cateun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    327
    105
    41
    24
See reviews for
147
660
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is beautifully decked out in comfortable and warm Scottish decor. The burning open fire in the sitting room is delightful with a pre-dinner drink and the lobby is warm and welcoming. We splashed out on the Cuillin Room (41) and we are so glad we did. Beautiful view to Portree harbour, a very comfortable be and huge bathroom with tub for two! Lovely extras like hot chocolate and caramel wafers make it a lovely welcome. A bottle of Louis Roederer champagne on arrival is a recommended extra.

The staff are incredible friendly and knowledgable and the overall vibe is welcoming, warm and very Scottish (note: Scottish husband chuckles at this but is proud of the observation). The food in the restaurant is great, however simple and breakfast is lovely and simple too. Good cakes or afternoon tea at Granary in the Portree square, too.

A drive around the breathtaking isle is a must, a stop at the Tallisker distillery and the "oldest bakery in Skye" in Dunvegan is fun too.

I should add we're here in January and its lovely. It's officially low-season and a few things are shut but nature is really at its finest and it feels in many ways like we have the roads to ourselves. Just lovely.

Highly recommend this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Splash out on the Cuiliin Room (room 41), it's worth it for the view and the tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheRobertsonClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very pretty, service was very good and our room was a good size. Breakfast was fine in a lovely setting overlooking the bay. However, the room decor included a lot of an unpleasant yellow and cottage curtains which just didn't give you a clean, modern feel. There were spotlights on the parking lot outside which meant our room was bright as day during the night. Not conducive to great sleep. The shower was weak as was the hair dryer which made washing my hair a long, unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLBJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After Hogmenay in Edinburgh, we headed to Skye and booked a night here that morning.

What a place. Room was out back, but massive (as was disabled access room). Decor was spot on, authentic without being twee.

The weak points were the bar prices, £4.75 for a pint of Kronenberg. The wifi too was also pretty useless, I got a bit obsessed with it in the end, as the wifi had coverage but no Internet. (they are different after all!) It transpires it has been installed recently. Seems that the firm who put it in made a hash of it! Not good.

Is this such a hard thing to get right? 3 separate hotels in Scotland, hundreds of miles apart, from 2-4 star, all with crap tech resources.

Most impressive of all were the staff, Liam and Stephen were both funny, extremely courteous and polite. A real credit to the Hotel as the Island. We enjoyed a good few hours of humorous banter, both inane and politically fired. (I learnt more about the proposed Independence in an evening than from any tv show!)

The malt cabinet was brilliant, as was Stephens knowledge!

All in, a blinding place to stay. When in Skye, pay it a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Set just outside Portree, this hotel has views across the bay and out to the mountains beyond. Lovely setting.
We were given a room in an annex just outside the main building which was a disabled room. Shower not good, electric. Not sure why we got this room as the hotel was obviously not full?

Overall the hotel was good with great service, nice n clean. All you could want really, log fires, whiskey bar, great breakfast choice with the full Scottish option very good

Room Tip: Room 11 is disabled friendly. Great access but shower poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Stayed in a ground floor 'turret' room and on the first morning woke to the first snow fall of the season. We savoured a magical view as we enjoyed our breakfast. The location just away from the town centre is ideal. Dinner menu was adequate and service was good. Breakfast buffet was limited but ambience and view compensated. Superb location with magic outlook.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We truly enjoyed dinner here and have been coming here for dinner every time we visit Skye so this time we decided to add a stay here as well in one of the new rooms. The room is beautiful with high ceilings and newly decorated. It's also clean with good amenities. But there were power failures which interfered with the internet and the cable. The TV kept coming back on and waking us up in the middle of the night. The most annoying thing though is inconsiderate people letting the fire door slam which happened too often and kept jarring us awake.The noise from the bar area and the front entrance also carries into the room. There is a large gap under the door that could use some sound-proofing. We were very concerned about catching our early morning ferry but breakfast isn't served until 8 am. We were told to come to the dining room early to place our orders to be served right at 8, and they did, so we were happy with that. Breakfast wasn't to my liking though. There is a continental set up and you can choose from three different hot options or individual items. We both chose the Scottish pancakes but they weren't served with real maple syrup. The bacon was also not cooked enough. We explained about the room noise and the power cuts and the receptionist took £40 off the bill which we greatly appreciate and goes a long way in ensuring we will return again. Maybe not to stay overnight though.

Room Tip: Until they fix the slamming fire door located across from room 1 or fix the soundproofing on the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenladybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
358 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
14.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
453 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
387 reviews
11.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Property: Cuillin Hills Hotel
Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing