We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel let down by the kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel let down by the kitchen”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel overlooking Portree harbour and the Cuillins. We were very fortunate in the room we had as I am disabled and it was beautifully fitted out and very clean. I think the kitchen lets this hotel down badly. Breakfast was extremely good, freshly cooked and served to your table. But bearing in mind that the menu for dinner in the restaurant never changes and it claims to serve seafood, one night the kitchen had to apologise because it could not serve crab and the next night langoustines were not available is to my mind poor. I had a salad on one occasion which consisted of a few lettuce leaves and some sliced apple - very poor. I also had a dessert which was frozen so solid that I couldn't cut it with a knife. Heaven help you if you were vegetarian as there was only one option. The front of house staff who had to face the public were very young and did a magnificent job.

Room Tip: Front refurbished rooms are excellent but you have to pay more for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mod68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    327
    105
    41
    24
See reviews for
147
661
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is an excellent hotel overlooking the harbour.The rooms (we had one of the premier rooms)are first class all the facilities anyone could want.We ate in the restaurant on the 2days we visited and the food was outstanding this combined with the young staff who were a credit to the hotel made it a memorable experience.We would definitely come again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A lovely hotel all staff excellent but food that we had very disappointing we both ordered 28 day steak one to be cooked medium and the other medium to well done both came cremated outside and raw inside and was tougher than my leather belt this chef needs to stay cooking fish

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alantheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Janet and her staff, our lovely stay was too short. A gorgeous small hotel. Lovely location, excellent staff, great food and very comfortable. Our room overlooked Portree, we enjoyed sitting and chatting by the fire. Food was very good and a lovely breakfast. All in all would return in a heart beat. Hope to spends some late summer or autum days there on our next holiday.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April. The Cuillin Hills is everything a hotel should be. Previous reviewers have said it all. Its well built into the landscape, clean, efficient, comfortable. We received a very warm welcome and staff were frendly and helpful throughout. They always seemed happy to go the "extra mile". The restaurant was excellent for dinner and breakfast and of course the views from the restaurant are amazing. We got a great deal through an online booking company at short notice and on arrival were immediately upgraded. We had initially booked for 2 nights but decided to stay for a third. We were able to stay in the same upgraded room for the same price as the previous nights. We were disappointed when the langoustines were unavailable on the evening of my husband's birthday. The duty manager made sure there were some available the next night and even served us extra. Do stay, you will not be diappointed. What a shame we live at the other end of the country!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCamper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, ma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The positives: nice staff, nice location, clean hotel.

The negatives: First, the beds qualify as medieval torture devices. They make ironing boards seem soft. We reserved two night and had to leave after the first, which we largely spent sitting up in the room chairs because the bed was just so painful to lay in. Hint: a box spring is not a mattress! Second, the food is mediocre to poor. How do you mess up a fried egg and toast?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dan23435345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, England
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had dinner four successive nights at the Cuillin Hills Hotel.
We enjoyed the ambience of the dining room, the staff and the quality
and presentation of the food during those four evenings and
recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
364 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
14.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
454 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
388 reviews
11.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Property: Cuillin Hills Hotel
Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing