We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer relations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor customer relations”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner booked this hotel for a night away for my 40th birthday at the end of March, based on the information on the hotels website. One of the reasons he chose the hotel was the hotel restaurant menu, as we both like eating out in nice restaurants. When booking the hotel my partner asked if he needed to book the restaurant and was told no. On our arrival we again asked if we needed to book a table in the restaurant and were advised that we should. We got to our room and saw the sample menu for the restaurant, and both were looking forward to our meal. When we went down to eat we were then informed that we were eating in the brasserie as the restaurant was reserved for a coach tour (as was the lounge bar). I asked if we could have the restaurant menu in the brasserie but was told no, they had their own menu.
After our meal we expressed our disappointment at the restaurant being out of bounds and were given the opportunity to speak to the duty manager. My partner was told that the restaurant was not officially open until the Friday (29th March). When my partner pointed out the website stated it was open March to October he was told "well, Friday is March, and you're just splitting hairs". The manager then told him she was not giving him any money off as the room was already heavily discounted. My partner pointed out that he had paid the amount quoted on the web page which was commensurate for the time of year. The manager refused point blank to offer any compensation, not even a free drink, or an apology, and instead suggested we didn't have to eat there. Good tip!!!
Although the rest of the staff were very friendly, we found the hotel itself was nice but nothing spectacular (we have stayed in far nicer hotels for a cheaper price which have provided a much better service), and the managers attitude was atrocious. Will definitely not be going back there, and will recommend that others don't either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    319
    99
    40
    24
See reviews for
140
644
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner on a local recommendation (we had been hoping for lunch at the three chimneys, but were refused because we have a 3 month old!). Staff couldn't have been more helpful & didn't bat an eyelid about the baby (even though the restaurant is obviously very smart). Food was lovely & came at an appropriate pace. I had a scallop main course which was to die for & a good sized portion & incredibly good value. The views were stunning, well worth booking an early table to watch the sun go down. Will definitely go again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank s_r52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Exceptional, Amazing friendly staff, gorgeous location, well worth booking a sea view room, food was excellent. Hotel was clean, warm and beautifully furnished. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family and would not consider booking any other hotel for future trips to Skye

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are large and very comfortable, good sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we found we had been given a room upgrade "because we are quiet". And it got better from there

The room was lovely. The staff were helpful "snow scraper for your car. No problem". Breakfasts were the very best.

I don't usually eat at hotel dining rooms but this ome is just superb


Thank you so much
Martin and Holly

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed during off season for a couple of nights, we found the service was great, very helpful with advice on local walks etc, the breakfast was very tasty and lots of options (eggs benedict, blueberry pancakes as well as a very good full Scottish) , great view from the dining room, and the room was a good size. We had a room in the annex at the rear that faced onto the car park which was a little disappointing, though we were aware that a sea view would be more money, also the drinks in the bar were very expensive, which was a shame as we struggled to find any decent pubs in Portree and if the whiskies had been more reasonable we probably would have stayed by the log fire in the hotel lounge all night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma8646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here two weeks ago with my husband to celebrate m birthday. Had visited before around eight years ago and it was wonderful then. It has since been redecorated and a new Fine Dining Restaurant and extra bedrooms have been added. It is now fantastic! We had a turret room , legate Queen style bed, Queen Anne style furniture , marble bathroom and a turret lounge area with a huge Plasma television. Beautifully decorated, very comfortable and views from front and side of hotel. Extremely clean rooms and public areas, could smell disinfectant next morning as we passed the chambermaids at work on our way to breakfast. Would definitely ask for that room again even though all the rooms are wonderful. Food as good as some of the fine dining(Michelin starred) places we have eaten in around the world. The hot seafood salad for dinner and the Eggs Benedict are to die for!Service great and staff can not be more friendly and helpful. Tried to return this weekend but sadly(for us) fully booked. Looking forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter40blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights courtesy of a special offer offered by the hotel in March. Much of Skye had yet to open for the tourist season so it was relatively quiet. We were given one of the turret rooms, which was huge with a superking size bed and separate seating area. The room was tastefully decorated and comfortable although the mattress was a bit too firm compared to what we are used to. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and although the View Restaurant was not yet open, the food from the Brasserie was to a high standard and reasonably priced. We had the Seafood linguini which was superb, filled with scallops, razor clams, mussels and salmon for dinner on the first night. There was a good choice for breakfast, including "the full Scottish" which really set you up for the day, as well as other courses such as eggs benedict and asparagus and smoked fish.
The views from the restaurant over the water and to the Cuillin Hills beyond are quite simply stunning, especially when we stayed when we had clear skies and little cloud. The lounge area had a roaring fire where one could chill out during the day or take coffee after dinner.
This was our first trip to Skye and we reckon the Cuillin Hills Hotel is the ideal place to stay if you want a comfortable, quality hotel with great views, friendly staff and good food at a reasonable price whilst still being within walking distance of the town, its restaurants, shops and amenities. We do expect to return to the island but perhaps in early April when more of the tourist attractions are open.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Property: Cuillin Hills Hotel
Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing