We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Although a little expensive this hotel was quality through and through. Set in an idyllic quiet spot with views overlooking the harbour certainly helped the relaxation. All the staff were very friendly, polite and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms and public areas were clean, tidy and comfortable (with the wi-fi useful and reliable). Whilst not an exhaustive menu the food quality( & quantity) was excellent both for breakfast and evening meals.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoandTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    324
    100
    40
    24
See reviews for
145
648
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great place to stay, very relaxing, booked room for a one night stay, was on the top floor with beautiful sea view. The apartments were spacious, very clean, well equipped and quiet. The receptionist, is very welcoming and helpful . We will return, definitely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorota1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Short break and we were greeted by very friendly reception staff.Hotel is in great location just a 5-10 min walk from Portree with an elevated position giving wonderful view over bay.
Room was grand.,front facing and taslefully furnished. Towels were super soft and bed very comfy.
Breakfast served in lovely bright restuarant perfect for enjoying the view.Great staff and could not fault anything with our stay.
We stayed in room 24

Room Tip: try for front facing .You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superjay98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Cuillin Hills Hotel would score full marks based on our recent visit.
The price was very reasonable (£80 for one night B&B) when the room and breakfast were of such a good standard.
The hotel is about ½ a mile outside Portree and has fantastic views over the harbour and sky. Unfortunately, it was cloudy whilst we were there but I understand it also has good views of the Cuillins on a clear day.
The service offered by the hotel was amongst the best I’ve ever experienced. The staff were friendly and relaxed and responded very helpfully to all queries. We had a broken light bulb in the room which was replaced within minutes and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. At all times, we were made to feel that they just wanted to give us excellent service so that we would have a relaxing time.
The food for the evening meal and breakfast was delicious. We had seafood linguine and I had a chocolate marquise. Everything was polished off!
Our room was in a rear annexe. It was of a very good size with enormous ensuite bathroom. There was nothing wanting in the bedroom which appeared to have been recently refurbished / decorated with nicely co-ordinating soft furnishings. Flat screen TV and good shower over bath.
There were no concerns over cleanliness at all. I think the whole hotel must have been recently refurbished because the restaurant / lounge were so fresh in appearance. I see someone else has criticised the wallpaper in the lounge. It’s all a question of personal taste because I thought they were lovely and a good choice for such a large room. Made it feel warm and modern. The views from the restaurant are wonderful.
I will definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenboat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a last minute deal and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had an 8 hour drive and were greeted by lovely reception staff and shown to our room which we couldn't find fault with, it was clean, comfortable with a good selection of teas/coffees/hot chocolate, even a selection of skimmed/semi skimmed milk! A big queensize bed (alittle too hard for me), a lounge area with TV and the bathroom had a selection of shower/bath bits n bobs, a very powerful shower and a beday too! Towels and sheets were changed daily and the room cleaned daily to a high standard.

Breakfast was lovely a selection of fruits/cereals/pastries to help yourself to and a great selection of cooked breakfasts on the menu. I also noticed that they would also accommodate requests for things which were not on the menu. The restaurant also had stunning views across Portree.

We ate in the brasserie restaurant one evening and were pleasantly surprised, very good value and lovely food. The food was very reasonably priced (the specials menu approx £14 for a main) but one thing I would say is be careful when asked if you would like water, it was £4 a bottle which we didnt realise until we paid the bill when we checked out. The bar and brasserie staff where lovely too.

Portree is a lovely place, boat trips from the harbour to see the wildlife and some lovely walks, we will definitely be going back to Cuillin Hills Hotel and would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan3t99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

There are a few rules to follow when touring in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland, and in order to maximise enjoyment and reduce hassles, here is a review with a difference with some handy hints (and insights into the rather seductive Cuillin Hills Hotel, of course).

1) In summer, the Isle of Skye is swarming with continental Europeans and others wanting a piece of the action. Demand outstrips supply many times over - so the room rates rise to eye-watering levels. The season is short, so you can't blame the proprietors totally.

2) Treat the gentle islander staff and others with respect. On our recent visit we witnessed American rudeness and ludicrous demands at their very worst. All this from the country that gave the world obesity and soul-less shopping malls as well as gun culture. Good old Uncle Sam - erm...

3) Check the weather forecast. Go off-season and save two thirds or more off the high season rates. These past few days - at an amazing £130 or so per night in the best room of the house (41) - not a cloud in the sky, sunsets to die for and highs of 12 degrees (C)...in our bay facing room, the temperature in the sunlight went to 20C - and I got a suntan over chilled rose with the view over Portree Harbour...sublime.

I cannot comment on all the rooms, as you can imagine - but I can recommend Room 41 - on the first floor - overlooking the Cuillins and the little harbour of the town. Well furnished, superlative extras (think brilliant toiletries, caramel waifers and miniatures of Scotland's amber nectar). The bed was maybe a little hard, but could be solved with a comforter on top of the mattress. And let's not forget the bathroom which was the size of Lichtenstein.

The village is 15 minutes away on foot- so those who say it is outwith walking distance are totally out of it. We walked there twice, and it was a leisurely stroll in the warm early spring sunshine.

The View restaurant is closed in low season - but their Brasserie is open. The food is wholesome and if you engage the staff (please note those from the New World) gently and with humour, it is an amazing experience.

I would like to thank - Janet (the GM who shares the surname of my favourite math teacher!), Hazel, Charlotte, Christina, Mr. Butler (Steven) and the newly engaged Kirsty (please enjoy Singapore!). And those who I met in passing - thank you too!

In the course of my work I stay in chain Hiltons, Marriotts, Fairmonts, Sofitels...and I can tell you I have never met such a super team of staff than those gracing the Cuillin Hills.

At the rate of £130.00 per night, this was a bargain. In high season, it will no longer be that bargain - but once the maddening crowds have long gone, it will again return to that amazing bargain, not to be missed.

Room Tip: Get one with a view - and the ones in the annex do look pokey...Room 41 wins hands down for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went for our first bar meal of the year last week in the brasserie, and what a treat! The menu is good, well priced (which makes a change for the cuillin Hills!), and a great selection. I had the chilli and coriander mussels and a burger-both great. The burger wasn't home-made which was slightly disappointing, but the accompaniments more than made up for it. The atmosphere is relaxed and the location is stunning. As a local i have been going to the Cuillin Hills for years, but this was my favourite visit by far. Looking forward to going back soon! Thank-you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelpolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
13.3 mi away
Uig Hotel
Uig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uig
425 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
156 reviews
14.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Property: Cuillin Hills Hotel
Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing