We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last weekend. The staff were lovely and friendly, taking the time to chat to you about your day, what you did and recommending other places to visit. The staff really are the gem of this hotel. The hotel did have a slight feel of under occupancy, one of the mornings we ate breakfast in the restaurant and were the only couple there! This is probably the norm for February and I could imagine it would be very busy in peak season. The restaurant food was excellent with a good choice of starters and mains. Breakfast was also excellent with a wide choice. We booked this hotel after reading reviews here and certainly weren't disappointed. As mentioned by others, the views from the front of the hotel were amazing. If you've got time do the circular walk starting from the hotel, it takes in some fabulous views out to the Isle of Raasay and back into Portree Harbour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed there for three nights. The room was nice enough and breakfast was great.
The negative point was that there was only one veggie option in the menu but they found a second one when we asked. The view is simply wonderful

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLELV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a location! I used this venue for a business event and was blown away by the views looking out over Portree Harbour to the Cuillins.

The staff were so attentive - everyone from the caretaker to the duty manager did their bit to make this a very successful event.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_Lockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here recently with my parents and we all loved the charm and elegance of this hotel. Definitely will come back. Its a little bit harder to find initially but once there it is worth it. The view from the rooms and restaurants over the Portree harbour was very pretty.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank arborictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of December when the weather wasn't good. A nice warm welcome at the front desk followed by what looked like a newly refurbished large room. Very comfortable indeed with a great view of Portree Bay. Complimentary fruit and water in the room on arrival. Bathroom was sparkling with everything you might need. Staff were very friendly, most were locals and the food was pretty good if not too exciting. After dinner drinks in the sitting room with the log fire was great. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itinerants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Such a surprise to find this rare gem of a hotel. They've managed to keep the hotel to a very high standard, yet with the lovely welcoming feel of a guesthouse. We loved sitting by the open fire drinking red wine, then had a delicious dinner. The bed was so comfy- haven't had a sleep like that in a long time! Breakfast was served overlooking the harbour whilst the snow was falling in front of us. The staff were so friendly, everything was perfect- we will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brihony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here on a short trip to Skye we got a very good deal with it being out of season. Rooms were of a good size with great views over Portree bay. Breakfast was very good. The hotel bar and restaurant are nicely decorated with modern furnishings. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cduncan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
490 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range: $118 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing