We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant at the Pier

Restaurant at the Pier
Ranked #26 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Scottish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small restaurant situated on the harbour. Our menu is varied and very competatively priced. We are open Easter through to October.
Portree
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I can't believe I have not found this little gem before! Amazing food and great service, so much better than the other places I have tried on Skye, Only problem was the portions were so large I needed a sleep after the meal. Would be more than happy to recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richnmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only tried one ...but it was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Small and quaint, no glitz & less expensive than the other 5 we looked at. The "trip advisor" sign in the window sold us. Food was very good (salmon salad, crab cakes and soup of the day).. They only have seating for about 16 (3x4 and 2x2) so 1 waitress was more than enough...although she could have been a bit more attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clouxles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy and...ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We managed to walk in after 8pm and were lucky enough to get a table straight away. Quite a few people after us were turned away. Service was attentive, nice friendly waitress and she seemed to be the only one waiting tables. It's a small place, only around 5 tables in total. The food arrived in reasonable time and the quality I would say was okay - not brilliant but tasty enough. The small restaurant size leaves a cosy atmosphere, but the lighting worked against it. Wouldn't be my first choice but I'd eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank Dabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Poor customer experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Called in the previous day & told booking not possible but if we called in at 6.30pm our name would be put on a list & we'd have a table for 4 by 7.30pm. Unfortunately we got there later at 7.20pm, put our name on the list & went for a drink in the hotel bar. I have to mention there was only 1 waitress on duty that night & she said she'd get us in at 8.30pm so we knew we'd have to wait an hour & 10 mins.

At 8.40pm we went through to ask when our table would be available & were told soon. At 8.50pm to speed things along we went through & suggested we look at menus to order in advance of our table being available.

By this time we were putting up with drunken people in the bar.
I have to add that we did this ourselves as surely any average restaurant would have kept its waiting clientel informed...

When we were finally called through there was another wait & we finally got our food at 9.30pm, despite ordering in advance & the food was distinctly average - the fish (from the fish & chips) was well overcooked & dry.

To add insult to injury 4 people came in 2 x 2 people tables were immediately put together...

Sorry guys, but today customer experience is key & the whole experience was very poor.In hindsight now perhaps we should just have gone elsewhere but we wanted to give you the benefit of the doubt.

Sorry guys but that was a poor experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northampton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Snug restaurant with great staff and even better food! Prices are extemely reasonable! Great spot for anyone sailing and not wanting to be bothered by seagulls!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at the Pier also viewed

 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Restaurant at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing