We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very glad we booked this one.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Skyehaven

Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area
Garden View out of the glazed wall window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Living area
Garden
View out of the glazed wall window
kitchen dining area
looking down to the river
living area
A wee touch of snow!
Reflexion of the surrounding area
One of our many  little feathered friends
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
deborah_s...
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very glad we booked this one.”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just back from a week spent at Skyehaven. This is a lovely, cosy, clean cottage. We enjoyed the tranquil, rural location with the views of the river Snizort and the Cuillins in the distance while at the same time we appreciated being only 5 minutes drive from Portree and the very handy Co op! An added advantage was that it WASN'T down a long, bumpy single- track road! In fact, we found it ideally located for getting round the island: we ventured around Totternish, across to Dunvegan and Neist Point and down to Broadford and Suisnish. Stunning scenery. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners who couldn't have been more helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishL...
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis in a sea of tranquility !”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Visited at the start of September 2016 with my partner, sister and her hubby. We couldn't have picked a more perfect holiday rental. The pictures on the website looked fantastic but in real life ... truly exceptional. Beautifully presented cottage with all amenities plus some. Stacks of informative reading and recommendations on places to visit/restaurants etc, CD's, binoculars to admire the amazing views from the cottage, and Margaret's (the owner) wonderful home made marmalade. A fantastic spot to explore Skye and beyond, only 5 minutes drive from Portree. And that view - wow. We had the most amazing time. It was also great to meet the lovely Margaret just before our departure. Only negative is that we couldn't stay longer. Looking forward to our next visit. Ang, Rob, Karen and John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views
Liked least: The sofa with a mind of its own :-)
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micha N
's-Graveland, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly magnificent house on beautiful Skye”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Skyehaven cottage has been an excellent base for our hiking trip to the isle of Skye. It is situated centrally on the isle, so all major attractions are within short range, it is very well equipped and it has all the comfort one needs with an excellent shower, lovely bath and fully equipped kitchen. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I would certainly recommend this house to all of my friends and family and anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay while exploring Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and its location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fabulous time in Skye.

The accommodation is of a very high standard, very comfortable and the owner has thought of everything one could possibly need, there is no need to bring anything apart from yourselves and food.

The views from the huge picture window are simply stunning.

The location is perfect only about 5 miles from Portree.

We will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
GLASGOW
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb house!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Enjoyed a great week in this superb house, it really does have everything anyone could need!

View from the glass wall in the living area is lovely and all of the rooms have been decorated to a high spec.

Well positioned for Portree, Uig and Dunvegan.

Only complaint was that a week wasn't long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain P
Strasbourg, France
1 review
“very comfortable home with all amenities in the middle of a beautiful landscape”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

very comfortable home
all the facilities of theof the description sheet are present and functioning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a lovely house in the middle of the campaign with an amazing view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruhl, Germany
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge window (glass wall?) with its amazing view.
Liked least: That we have to leave after a wonderfukl week.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing