We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as usual.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Granary

The Granary
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good as usual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Had a lovely Christmas lunch here this week. along with a group of 40 ladies. A place we use for coffee, lunches and evening meals. It never fails to impress.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skyebird9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    457
    130
    51
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good, although not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Arrived late to Portree without a restaurant booking so we tried The Granary as it was the last place open and still serving. Although there was a bit of queuing to wait for the table we did eventually get seated.
Despite the restaurant being very busy, our food was served quickly and it was a pleasant meal. My baked trout stuffed with smoked salmon and crayfish was served with potatoes and a rocket salad. The sauce was rather too buttery and the fish somewhat dry, but quite tasty.
If you are looking for a more intimate atmosphere and a bit more attention to detail I wouldn't recommend here, however for good basic food and polite service The Granary cannot be faulted. Plus it's almost impossible to find anywhere to eat in Portree without a reservation and The Granary came up trumps.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T55MCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Turned away for food mid afternoon!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

No food available here late afternoon, even though we only arrived 10 mins after they'd stopped serving. We were told there would only be cakes and coffees served until 6pm.

Very disappointing for a tourist orientated venue!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caithnessian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

It was the only place open that seemed to serve real food so we gave it a shot. What a surprise, it was excellent. I really cannot fault the choice, quality and service. We had a great booth at the back for the three of us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedubya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
595 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“Cosy shelter from a miserable day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a cup of tea and toasted tea cake. Good, friendly service and we enjoyed our tea. Hard to judge a place on that but our friends had lunch which they seemed to enjoy. It was very pleasant sitting by the window looking out onto the town square as a river of rain flowed by!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granary also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 
 

Been to The Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing