We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Atmosphere”
Review of Torwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torwood
Ranked #54 of 93 Portree B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife, my 5 year old son and I spent one night at Torwood on the Isle of Skye and were very happy with our stay. We were met by John who was happy for our son to play on the trampoline and in the garden which he really enjoyed. The B and B is a mile or so outside Portree in a quiet and pleasant setting. The family room was excellent and spotless and the breakfast was very good as well. We met our hostess Mary the next morning and she was very friendly. I would recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick_davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We went around the West Coast of Scotland and stayed at 4 different B&Bs - This one was clearly our favourite - privacy, comfort and amazing surroundings whilst still being a short drive away from lovely Portree!

It does offer some Hotel comfort and the breakfast is excellent. Anne is absolutely lovely to talk to and we really feel at home!

I would strongly recommend this B&B.

Laurence

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenceFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Staying at this B and B was one of the highlights of our trip around the Western Isles, with friends from the USA. I would agree wholeheartedly with the other reviewers who say that Anne and Gillie go the extra mile to welcome you and make you feel at home and that you are left with the impression that you are staying with friends when you stay at Torwood - from the welcome on our arrival to the sending off early on the morning of our departure, they could not do enough to ensure that we enjoyed our stay on Skye. We stayed 3 nights and wished it could have been longer! Everything was spotlessly clean, comfy beds, lovely bedlinen and furnishings, fluffy towels, peaceful surroundings, delicious breakfasts ..... nothing was too much trouble. Anne even offered to change the tyre on our hired car when she noticed we had a puncture! We declined but she let us use her phone to contact a garage and offered to run us in to Portree. And we LOVED the unexpected 'extras': a performance on the bagpipes from their son, John(what a treat, especially for the Americans!); having the game of shinty explained to us; learning a Scottish psalm tune with Gillie while we were having breakfast on the morning we were leaving. These are the sorts of things you will never forget and which make your stay memorable. You won't come across this kind of guest house and hospitality very often, so miss it at your peril if you are planning a visit to Skye!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Faultless B&b, nice breakfast, Free wifi, comfortable rooms with excellent shower. But that isn't what made this b&b stand out excellent service is the norm on the isle of Skye.
That was the extra mile the went to make us feel like guests not room renters. Anne gave us a lifts into Portree when she could and on the morning we left got up for 6 in the morning (we had a boat to catch) and offered us a full cooked breakfast, we declined but the point is she offered.
Oh and prepare for an education in shinty(Scotish national sport)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

WOW!!!!! Now this is what you call Scottish hospitality!! Beautiful house beautiful surroundings beautiful family. You really feel like you are staying with friends at this family run b&b. The furniture and items provided for use are all of great quality. Do not be put off by the mention of children in the house, they are the nicest most well behaved children i have ever had the pleasure to meet. The views from the house are like something out of a movie,i could have sat on the bench at the front of the house for hours!! The breakfasts are fabulous and everything is immaculately clean. Anne is the nicest host you could ever wish for and after only a few hours there i felt as if i had known her for years. Perfectly situated for Portree and the whole of Skye really. For a fabulous meal in the evenings try The Cafe in Portree opposite and up a bit from the square,beautiful food very reasonably priced.Hope to return to not only Portree but Torwood oneday soon.Thank you so much Anne for making our honeymoon that extra bit special with your wonderful hospitality and beautiful relaxing home. So sad we when had to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodz0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We arrived after a long journey to be greeted by the owners, Anne and Gillie. We were shown to our rooms which were so welcoming, warm, clean and relaxing. The bedrooms are furnished and decorated to the highest of standards, from the relaxing beds and the linen to the warm fluffy towels in the bathrooms. Hairdriers and bath robes are provided not to mention the added extra of the ipod station - WOW - such a bonus.

After the most relaxing nights rest we awoke to the sun shining, the birds singing and the sheep gently grazing in the surrounding fields. The breakfast - AMAZING, from the ground coffee to the cooked scottish breakfast - we couldnt manage lunch - Anne your scrambled egg is the best I have ever tasted!

After a full days touring the Island with various guide books loaned to us by Gillie we couldn't think of anything more relaxing and comforting than our tranquil rooms at Torwood and dreaming of the hearty breakfast that is fit for a King!

We can not wait to return in May to experience the true Island hospitality that Anne and Gillie offer from their first class bed an breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megsea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Our three nights at Torwood were very comfortable and it was a great base from which to explore Skye. The house is quite new but built in a traditional style incorporating very comfortable ensuite B&B rooms (upstairs). We enjoyed the plush towels and other little touches in the bathroom which are often missing in Scottish B&Bs. Torwood is about 1 mile off the main road and a 10 minute drive to Portree. The host family includes school aged children and we enjoyed the family atmosphere. If you are being directed by a sat nav in your car you will probably be taken by the back road (single lane, lots of sheep) which is very scenic but unnecessary. Anne is a really delightful host, very friendly and helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend Torwood.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
4.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
4.7 mi away
Peinmore House by Portree
Peinmore House by Portree
#17 of 93 in Portree
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
442 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#16 of 93 in Portree
297 reviews
3.7 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#7 of 22 in Portree
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood

Property: Torwood
Address: 1 Peiness, Portree IV51 9LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Torwood Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing