We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pub in Town”

The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Stralsund, Germany
1 review
“Best Pub in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went to Portree for 3 weeks to get a job done. At evenings we enjoyed the great atmoshare and excellent food in Isles Inn Pub.
The stuff was very friendly and we felt welcome like home.
Our server Angie was amazing . She always give us a smile and kept us well informed about local events and attractions.
Thank you guys for the great time we had in Isles Pub !! We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islesinn, Manager at The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    230
    92
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid the restaurant at all costs!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

It was the worst half meal me and my partner ever had!!!
We ordered a few starters from the menu and it was truly disgusting.
The 'locally sourced squid' was reprocessed rubber rings, extremely bad quality and from a frozen food shop.

The Cullen skink was just mushed potatoes with ONE flake of fish presented on a dirty plate with massive fingerprint stains. It was like someone had taken it out of the microwave dipped a finger in soup and touched the plate...Disgusting.
The Haggis pakoras were full of burned oil and rotten salad leaves.
The mussels were just swimming in tasteless unseasoned double cream.
I would give a minus ten if I could.
We also heard the microwave 'ding' couple of minutes before our disappointment was served. What a treat!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ludmila89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islesinn, Manager at The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Seriously! You put the exact same review on twice which in its self is suspect. Have you actually read our menu? Nowhere does it say locally sourced squid rings, really - on the isle of skye! It actually states crispy deep fried squid rings served with salad. So you presumed your food was microwaved even though the squid is deepfried, the mussels are cooked in white wine & garlic on the stove and the skink is taken from a pot on the stove, the haggis pakora is also fried, as you are well aware. I would apologise if I thought you had a valid complaint but I know exactly who you are and you don't!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok but not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We came here to eat whilst staying in a nearby B&B. We were seated quickly and orders taken, but unfortunately our order got misplaced and over an hour later we finally managed to get some food. The one guy working the restaurant was working damned hard! And when the mistake was discovered he was quick to rectify it and very apologetic, plus gave us starters and drinks free. The food, when it did arrive was tasty but not outstanding. Not a bad place, and we understand mistakes do happen, but I probably wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islesinn, Manager at The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Apologies your order was misplaced, but as soon as the mistake was realised, rectified, after checking from the moment of order until the moment of delivery of food it was 50 minutes, which again I can only apologise again for. I am sorry that you would not eat with us again, the waiter did the correct thing and gave you your starters and drinks complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish and chips heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Been a few times now and always go for the fish n chips whuch never disappointsthe staff accomodate the slight change from garden peas to a side salad and always get service with a smile ,The meals in my point of view are cheaper than similar establishments in Portree/Skye but not the usual factory frozen breaded haddock ,Here you get a lovely light batter that isnt greasy ,definately recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abemnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islesinn, Manager at The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thankyou for leaving us a review we are delighted you enjoyed our freshly made fish & chips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Florida USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun good Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I travel solo but came away with many friends. The wait staff is amazing and the one-man-band was local and good crac.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank single_malt_scotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islesinn, Manager at The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thankyou for leaving us a great review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Isles Inn Pub & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing