We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Givendale Guest House
Ranked #58 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great host”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We tried to get last-minute accommodation on Skye in May and really struggled as everywhere was full. Givendale was a little further out of Portree than we were hoping for but seemed to be the last room available on the island so we booked. What this house lacks in visual charm and location is more than made up for by the owner, Julian, who's welcome is fabulous and who's knowledge of the island and where to visit MADE our stay. The rooms aren't luxurious but they ARE clean and comfortable and if you go all the way to Skye to sit in a hotel room or watch tv, you need to go home! This is excellent value, a great breakfast, good location (it did us good to walk the mile into the town each evening after sitting on a motorbike all day!) and your very own tour-guide on tap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilloShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    43
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The whole place is very tired, steep drive followed by stairs which are covered in filthy carpet. Rooms very basic, paper thin walls, the bed linen has obviously seen better days, the radiator in the bathroom was filthy. Breakfast was in a squalid conservatory overlooking a depressing and overgrown garden! To get to the conservatory you had to go through the host's quarters which were quite frankly smelly and dirty.
Breakfast was greasy - I dared to ask for crispy bacon but was refused! The sausage tasted of sawdust and the egg appeared to have been deep fried. Disgusting. The next day my husband and I chose the Continental breakfast - processed cheese and ham - yuck. Our travelling companion put in a request for poached eggs - this was refused on the basis that they took too long to make but was offered scrambled eggs instead!!!!!!
The host would spend an awful lot of time hanging around our table wanting to talk about himself - we weren't really interested. He also objected to us - as a party of 3 - putting 2 tables together so we could all eat at the same table.
My husband and I were there with my husband's 86 year old Uncle - as we went upstairs, the host turned around and said "I don't know what your sleeping arrangements are". Need I say more?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stella585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portree hotels

Lleida, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Ok, it's not a hotel. I see some reviews stating that the Givendale is a quite basic accommodation. Yes, true. Do not expect any luxury. I wasn't in an ensuite room, so I had to share bathroom with other guests. Julian, the host, was unbelievably helpful giving us pointers on what to see and where to go in Skye. He's friendly, kind and solved any problem we had competently.
The room was quite basic, and, let's face it, it's somewhat far from Portree town centre, which could be a problem if coming back late at night, as street lights in the outskirts of Portree are scarce at best.
Breakfast was quite good, served in a conservatory. All, in all, a more than adequate place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatbaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Hallway reminded us of a college dorm rather than a B&B/guesthouse, but our room was clean, ensuite bathroom ok, no Tv in room though, spotty free wifi. Breakfast was ok but not great. White sliced bread and packaged presliced ham and cheese does not make a continental breakfast for me. But the manager did his best to make sure we were ok about everything, mainly by asking if everything was ok every few minutes, when we would rather have been left alone thank you.
The walk into town was more than just a few minutes, and on a rainy or very windy day is quite a slog. You pass loads of other B& B's on the way and wonder why you didn't decide to stay there instead of Givendale.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything you'd want from a budget Guest House and only 12 minutes walk from the centre of Portree. Biggest bonus was the extremely helpful host, Julian, who was really keen to share his vast knowledge of Skye. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

A good Scottish breakfast sets you up for the day with more offered if required. Tea and coffee in the rooms and more when requested. Clean and welcoming (if you like orange wallpaper all the better lol). You get exactly what you pay for here. Walls are thin so it can be 'freindly' at times! But would visit again.

Room Tip: Number 3 was fine. No view but everything else OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had great expectations of this Guest House but within 30 minutes we were standing outside again without a place to stay and without our money.

The Guest House has a few rooms on the first floor but beside that there is also a smaller "room" on the second floor. The shower was build in a cabinet and there was no place at all for our luggage. Maximum standing height is 2.00m But that is on 50cm2 The rest is lower, a lot lower.
This was not at all what we had paid for. We didnt get back our 60dollar, that was not possible. Also not after a few e-mails the owner didnt want to refund our .

When I want to discus the room with the owner, I looked into his livingroom. It was dirty, clothing all over the place.

The website of the Givendale Guest House is misleading. Take an other B&B or Hotel and enjoy your stay on Skye somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.7 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
10.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#5 of 20 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
13.9 mi away
Tullochard House
Tullochard House
#3 of 10 in Dunvegan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 91 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Givendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Givendale Guest House

Property: Givendale Guest House
Address: Givendale Heron Place, Portree IV51 9GU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Givendale Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Givendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Givendale Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing