We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice, first class”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalriada Guest House
Ranked #50 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First choice, first class”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were pointed to Dalriada by the helpful Portree Visitors' Information Centre.
Initially I was disappointed that the B&B was over a mile outside the town, however that view soon changed.
We were met at the door by Duncan who turned out to be a great host and a genuinely nice person.
The setting of Dalriada is magnificent with great views across to the Cuillins from the communal lounge and the moorland and hills from our bedroom.
The en-suite double room had a good shower, was well appointed, pleasantly decorated, comfortable, clean and more than ample for our three night stay.
Breakfast was great, a good choice available and even with home-made yoghurt.
We thought that the rate was very reasonable for such a well appointed and lovely house... perhaps the reason is the distance from the town but as an easy downhill walk or short drive, don't let that put you off.
Duncan was an excellent host, absolutely nothing was too much trouble. He is very knowledgeable about the local area, suggesting a lovely coastal walk from the house and a magnificent one through The Quiraing on the Trotternish Peninsular and was more than happy to lend us his 'walking-route' book and local map. His advice for restaurants and 'watering-holes' was spot on too.
For a southerner ... a truly honorary Scotsman.
When next on Skye, it will be to Dalriada that we will head

Room Tip: Upstairs will give you slightly better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived in Portree without a reservation and were lucky enough to find this wonderful guest house owned and operated by Duncan Brown. I would rate this B&B exceptional. Duncan is the perfect host and the B&B is spotlessly clean. I would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked one night at the Dalriada after booking it through the Information Centre in Portree at the very last minute. When we arrived it was absolutely pouring with rain and blowing a gale but that didn't stop Duncan coming out to meet us on the door step with an umbrella. He is a lovely host, very easy to get on with and nothing is too much trouble for him..The accomodation was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was brilliant and the room that we were in had an amazing view. We would definately stay there again, in fact I have to visit Skye next week so am in the process of trying to book a room at Dalriada again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front and had a lovely view but obviously I could not comment on the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Fantastic welcome from Duncan. His hospitality was second to none. Lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast, breathtaking views from front windows. Looking forward to going back next may.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Located just outside of Portree a hill is a guest house with several rooms. In the shared living/dining room there is a giant table with lots of information about Portree and Skye. There is nothing wrong with the host but we simply did not have a great connection with him.

Television and DVD's were available, breakfast was fine, the room was small but okay. Nothing special, but a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Dalriada was a wonderful B&B, but it was made special by the B&B Host, Duncan Brown. Meeting us as we drove in and helping with our luggage was not done by any other B&B's in our 11 day vacation. Also, he had his finger on the pulse of where to eat (where we had out best meal in scotland) and what to see and avoid as we meandered throuout the Isle of Skye. He had maps to lend us with all the right spots to checkout. Also, he made some very good suggestions for other places in Scotland, as he found out which direction we were headed. Dalriada was a complete package with great breakfast and best WiFi connection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crau, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay. The reception given by Duncan is very warm (thanks for the CD). The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We highly recommend this address.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
1.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Givendale Guest House
Givendale Guest House
#61 of 99 in Portree
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 99 in Portree
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#45 of 99 in Portree
266 reviews
4.6 mi away
Storr Lochs Apartments
Storr Lochs Apartments
#7 of 21 in Portree
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalriada Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalriada Guest House

Property: Dalriada Guest House
Address: Achachork, Portree IV51 9HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalriada Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Dalriada Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing