We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Seaforth”
Review of Seaforth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaforth Cottage
Ranked #25 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Seaforth”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We, a group of 9 adults and a 1 kid, stayed in Seaforth for 1 night. All I can say is that the place is excellent and with outstanding service provided by Mr.MacKinnon. I would highly recommend this place. You get excellent view of the Portree bay. Mr.MacKinnon was kind enough to provide us three rooms and also the self-catering cottage and all of these at a very competitive price. The place has private parking space, the breakfast was good and we wanted to start early and Mr.MacKinnon said that breakfast would be ready any time that we wanted. He also allowed us to use his kitchen. Final verdict - I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The self-catering cottage is a value for money proposition and I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingroadracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
68
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed in Seaforth Cottage recently, in a tour with Rabbies. The experience was simply amazing and the word perfect is what can fully describe this specific B&B. The room was amazing, with incredible view. It was very clean, with warm and cozy linens and blankets and contained everything we needed (even a hair dryer). Mr MacKinnon gave us a friendly welcome, was very kind and offered to drive us to the city centre whenever we wanted. There was always a table with various flavors of tea, milk and some sweets for the customers to be treated. The breakfast was delicious. We were offered a filling dish of all the scottish goodies (eggs, bacon, potato scones, haggis, black padding and of course the delicious mushrooms). Apart from this dish we had a variety of milk, juice, cereal, yogurts etc to choose from. Everything was absolutely PERFECT! And all these facilites were provided in a very reasonable and affordable price. If I ever make it to the Isle of Skye again, I will go to this B&B without second thought. Thank you Mr MacKinnon for everything. It was the best place I've ever lived in during holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiotaKesidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is my first time to visit Skye. At the beginning, I worried about accommodation's quality, but in fact, it exceeded my expectation!! Ian is very kindness and thoughtful, he provided a lovely room for me, it's comfortable and cozy and has wifi and lots of socket. In addition, the best thing is when I got up and the most beautiful scenery just in front of me! I still remember the delicious breakfast and I really want to go to Skye and stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I traveled through Robbies tour so I've been stay there for 2 nights. Actually robbies make a mistake for my accomadation but Ian who runs the B&B give me so many help. I really enjoy to stay there. It's a warm, cozy, comfy and friendly place. Also enjoy the full scottish breakfast cook from Ian(espcially mushroom!!! my favorite!!!). Love it and highly recommend to stay here just relax and enjoy everything!!!!! Btw the seaview was awesome to(but really depends on the weather, my last day was sunny soooooo beautiful)!!! Just see the photo i take!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuChiaoCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Seaforth for 3 days, and, it was simply perfect in a number of ways --
1. The host Ian is a gem of a person, most helpful, and took great efforts to help us plan our trip and visits around Skye... he gifted us maps and books and information which was super useful. Also went out of the way to prepare vegetarian breakfast for us. Overall, the most warm treatment we received from amongst the 6 B&Bs we stayed in across Scotland
2. The location is great... right in the midst of the town, 3-5 min walk from the restaurants, yet quiet, and by the lake shore
3. The B&B offers the best sunrise views we saw in skye... simply magical
The property is neat and clean. Room is not very large, but, comfortable enough, and, the size is worth trading off for the view
I would strongly recommend this property in Skye, cannot go wrong !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhyanesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Although we stayed at the Seaforth in April of 2013, I still wanted to write a review. It was superb and charming and made a lasting impression on our vacation. We (my husband and 21yr old daughter and myself) were part of a Raabies tour of the Isle of Skye. Ian made us feel welcome from the second we met him! The rooms were comfy and clean and the breakfasts had almost everything you could think of. He is an excellent cook! The view overlooking the water made this probably the most desirable B&B, not to mention the double rainbow over the water when we arrived! We would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Sorry it took so long the write this review. The place is really fantastic! We were a family of 4 with Rabbie's highland explorer tour and it's the best place we've stayed during the entire trip. The house got beautiful sea views and the rooms were cozy. And it even got Chinese TV channels, which was nice as my parents don't speak English. Our host Ian is quite thoughtful. We've stayed in a lot of B&B and usually they don't provide and shampoo's and shower lotions. In Seaforth Head&Shoulders and Pears were provided in bath rooms. It was just like staying at home. We could help ourselves with drinks and snacks and Ian also allowed us to use his kitchen to cook our meal as my parents were not quite used to local food. I even learnt a few Garlic from Ian. Very pleasant experience and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: One of the room upstairs got the best view of the sea and port. You can watch sunrises inside your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68shaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 91 in Portree
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 91 in Portree
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaforth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaforth Cottage

Property: Seaforth Cottage
Address: Seaforth Cottage Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Seaforth Cottage Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing