We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$438
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood House Hotel(Greshornish)
$256
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunollie Hotel(Broadford)
$186
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree Hotel(Portree)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
74
17
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
17
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay viewpeaceful place to stayisle of skyedining room isportree townmin walkevery morningwonderful viewenjoyed our stayroom was largefamily roommargarethousesuitescotlandislandlandscape
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 93 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Gables has all the ingredients one needs for a comfortable and relaxing stay:
The location - a 15 minute walk into the town.
A large, light and airy room - spotlessly clean, a kingsize bed with a great view overlooking the bay and harbour approach and, on a good day, the Isle of Raasay.
A breakfast room/lounge - with the same views and a television for those who want to keep in touch with the outside world..
A breakfast guaranteed to keep the hunger at bay until late afternoon.
And of course, Mrs. Davidson, who not only makes it all possible but also ensures that if Portree again, then only THE GABLES. We stayed for three nights and regretted not being able to stay for longer. Top value for money and fully recommendable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was by far our favourite B&B in the UK in terms of ambience, location and hospitality. Margaret is an absolute darling and makes you feel incredibly welcome. The house itself is beautiful and the touches Margaret has added around really make living here an experience you wouldn't want to miss.
We had a twin room with views over the loch to Portree, and one double facing the back. Although views over Portree are better, the view from the other room was still beautiful, overlooking the back garden and hills and greenery beyond. Each room is done up uniquely and with a different theme (we know because we popped in to the other rooms just to take a look!). Margaret lays out a beautiful spread in your room, with coffee, tea, biscuits, all in delightful china (teapot, cups, little biscuit holders all from matching sets!). The rooms and bathrooms are large and very clean. The dining room too overlooks the city and you can make use of it if at other times in the day too if you're confined indoors (like we were) because of bad weather. We still had a very pleasant evening, sitting on her sofas, looking out over the city. And Margaret gave us some wine glasses too that completed the evening.
The breakfasts are sinful, with everything you can ask for and more. Eggs were done to perfection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view overlooking Portree
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rads_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Margaret is a darling. She offers nice rooms with a view, excellent food and family like welcome. Altogether a pleasant experience

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran_ois_C545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

If I had to give some recommendations about Portree, I should start of encouraging you to stay in this excellent B&B. Margaret gave us a lovely and amusing welcome. The room overlooks the bay and the city. You can also enjoy the living room and the gardens. It was very clean, cozy, confortable... and breakfast is great too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Fabulous position overlooking bay, only a brief walk into town centre. Room excellent, breakfast excellent, plenty of parking and a charming and friendly hostess - what more could you ask? Actually, what I liked about the room was the amount of storage space: warbrobe and three sets of drawers in a spacious en-suite room with bath and shower. Additionally Margaret has set out a bench and a table and chairs so that guests can take in the view. Margaret is just so warm and friendly it made the stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank King_of_America_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews