We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

If I had to give some recommendations about Portree, I should start of encouraging you to stay in this excellent B&B. Margaret gave us a lovely and amusing welcome. The room overlooks the bay and the city. You can also enjoy the living room and the gardens. It was very clean, cozy, confortable... and breakfast is great too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Fabulous position overlooking bay, only a brief walk into town centre. Room excellent, breakfast excellent, plenty of parking and a charming and friendly hostess - what more could you ask? Actually, what I liked about the room was the amount of storage space: warbrobe and three sets of drawers in a spacious en-suite room with bath and shower. Additionally Margaret has set out a bench and a table and chairs so that guests can take in the view. Margaret is just so warm and friendly it made the stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King_of_America_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I very much recommend the Gables if you go to Portree. It is at least a 20-minute walk from town, which can be tiring with luggage, but the location is well worth it. From our room, we had a beautiful view of an inlet with Portree on the other side. Margaret Davidson provided gracious hospitality. Our room was tastefully decorated in red. The breakfast table had a bountiful basket of fruits, cheeses, sausage, and yogurt, and we had cooked eggs besides. Coffee was a special treat in a French press. We were hiking the morning we left, and needed to catch the bus from Portree square to go to the ferry. Margaret volunteered to drive us, saying she did that often. We are very grateful.

I hope you go and enjoy this wonderful find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Also had a well presented dining room for breakfast. It was nice staying just outside the centre of town. Comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
117 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Gables was our best stay during this year’s touring holiday in Scotland. Our triple room was very big and spotless. Good welcome, great value, wonderful breakfast and a lovely view from the dining room. The only (very minor) downside is that it is a good 15 minutes walk into Portree, but overall, a very good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
348 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at The Gables. The room was comfortable and the host friendly and helpful. At first we wanted to stay in town, but we now feel that this was a good location. It is only minutes away from Portree and it has great views. It was wonderful to look at the view of the bay over breakfast. This B&B makes a good base for exploring the island. The lounge is available for guests to use and there is a large screen TV and DVD/VHS player. Smaller TV's are available in the bedrooms. There is wifi in the house which is useful if you bring a laptop. This was a very peaceful place to stay. Recommended.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Gables portree is the perfect b&b ....located just on the outskirts of Portree about 15 minutes walk into the centre of the village. Its set back from the road so its very quiet and peaceful and overlooks the bay of Portree... an idylic location to enjoy a bottle of wine
( we were on holiday!) Inside all areas are spotlessly clean... lovely bright bedrooms with crisp white cotton bedding. Two of the rooms face the bay with a further three facing the garden. The breakfast is fantastic with fresh fruit, individual cheeses,small boxes of different dried fruits alongside the usual cereals and cooked breakfast.... all cooked to order and of the best quality.
Margaret the owner is very friendly and knowledgable about Skye. We would to return...... soon.
W

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alimoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.6 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 99 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#18 of 99 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#4 of 19 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gables Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Gables Bed & Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing