We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and Callum and Rachael have now mastered weather control!!”
Review of Kiltaraglen House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiltaraglen House
Ranked #12 of 93 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pembroke dock, pembrokeshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and Callum and Rachael have now mastered weather control!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Absolutely fantastic holiday, everything at Kiltaraglen House was perfect. Very clean, great breakfasts and fantastic hosts. Weather was fantastic and we ended up going on a boat trip to Rona with Callum, Rachael, Pam and Kevin. We were delighted to be looked after so well, also Callum and Rachael reccommended some great places for us to eat. We will be returning at some point, highly reccommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkrockelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
What great weather we have had. You were very lucky to get both the weather and such a fantastic day for the trip to the Isle of Rona!

Please bring more of the same with you when you return to Kiltaraglen. Thanks from us all for such lovely comments.

Best regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here last month and the place is fantastic. Rooms are lovely, breakfasts great and the whole place was spotless.The location is great as it is very close to the town centre but also in a good place to explore the north peninsula. The hosts themselves were really excellent, lovely people and couldn't be more helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheetara_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for the review. Best regards from us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I took a trip out to Skye for a wee anniversary weekend away and couldn't have picked a better b&b to stay with. Kiltaraglen house is easy to find and in a great location, within walking distance to Portree centre but far enough out for absolute peace and quiet! The owners were really nice and helpful, even when you accidentally interrupt their tea to ask for a bottle opener!
My only criticism is that the shower in our room would chop and change between hot and cold but this was a minor flaw in an otherwise perfect stay. Great breakfast with full choice of what you want. Clean, cosy room to come back to after a day of walking. Lovely house! Thanks very much for our stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scot-min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for your review. Great that you too have taken time to give others the benefit of your experience.

We are so sorry that you had problems with the shower. If only you had let us know we could have done something about it. We have found that the setting had been changed and caused the flow to change, which in turn affected the heating of the water. So sorry that we couldn't have sorted this out for you. We do have plans to upgrade the shower, but unfortunately not over this winter. At the moment we shall make sure our guests are aware of the optimum setting for safe operation.

Meanwhile, we hope that you will visit again at some point and that our paths will cross again.

Best regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in this lovely B and B in the summer. It is full of character. Our friends stayed in the annexe and loved that too. Breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in the twin front bedroom with a bay window that overlooked the mature garden and we were very pleased with it. There is a private bathroom across the hall and my only criticism is that there is no shower and the bath took a long time to fill up. I wouldnt want to put anyone off tho as we really enjoyed our stay. The Simmister family are very welcoming and provided OS maps to borrow.

Room Tip: The twin room has a private bathroom but no shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazamegaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We really value your input and would like to let you (and everyone else) know that we are changing our old cast iron Victorian bath for a modern upgrade, WITH a SHOWER! over this winter, so our future guests will be able to enjoy the option of either.

I know how nice it is to be able to shower in the morning, so hopefully by the start of our 2014 season, all will be in place!. To be honest it is something we have been intending doing for a year or two (or more), but there has always been other 'things' which have taken priority.

We look forward to impressing you on your next visit and thanks so much for your kind words.

Best regards from us all at Kiltaraglen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A great little B&B. Run by a super family that are just fantastic hosts. It is very clean and relaxing site. A great peaceful location that's central for all the nice beauty spots of this area. Local restaurants are generally small and booking is always recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and can only hope that we have the chance to thank you again in the future.

Best regards from us all at Kiltaraglen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Kiltaraglen offers a mix of B & B and self-catering accommodation run by the lovely Simmister family. Furnishings, fittings, decor and utensils are of an exceptionally high standard and there are lovely additions such as fresh flowers in vases and interesting pieces of art on the walls. A phone is provided for local calls. There are OS maps and tourist information for guests and the friendly Simmister family are happy to offer some tips on the best places to visit.

The Garden Wing is what it says in the brochure - an ideal choice for a couple who want a bit of luxury. Photos can't do justice to the layout and comfort of this particular unit of Kiltaraglen. We rented the Garden Wing and Garden Cottage for our party of 5 and the combination was ideal as it gives spacious dining facilities in the Garden Wing for 5 or 6 people.

We loved the location just 10 minutes walk up the hill from Portree. The gardens are beautifully tended and set in beautiful scenery. It makes for a lovely relaxing comfortable holiday.

Room Tip: The Garden Wing gives that little extra luxury with a deep jacuzzi bath, beautiful views and a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieMitchell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review, it really does help our future guests and also keeps us on our toes!

We hope to see you back again.

Thanks from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Kiltaraglen House for 4 nights during the Portree Highland Games. It was charming to stay in this 200 year old house which is situated a short walk from the center of town. However, don't let the age of the house fool you: the owners keep it in tip-top condition. We especially appreciated the reading chairs in each of the rooms, situated in front of picturesque bay windows which allowed us to unwind with our books after a long hike...or just look out at the surrounding countryside. Further strong points were the breakfast meals which were very tasty and well prepared. And, just overall, the level of service and friendliness of the owners who made us feel right at home. Would definitely stay at Kiltaraglen again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the review.

Great that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to welcome you back. Best wishes from us all at Kiltaraglen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 93 in Portree
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiltaraglen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltaraglen House

Property: Kiltaraglen House
Address: Kiltaraglen House Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiltaraglen offers excellent bed and breakfast and self catering accommodation within a ten minute walk of Portree square. A warm and friendly welcome awaits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiltaraglen House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing