We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hosts in a stunning location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larchside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 97 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Only managed to spend two nights with Carol and Martin during a flying visit to Skye on business but would certainly return to both Larchside and to Skye. We choose Larchside because it was built by the same company we were considering to supply our new house. We were not disappointed in the build quality or the house in general but we also found a gracious couple who take delight in sharing their home and the delights of Skye with visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 301 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

A bright, open space with breathtaking views! The hosts are very friendly and helpful, giving good advice for newcomers around town. And the breakfasts are just excellent. Best we had all trip!

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Traveling around Scotland with my parents this summer, we spent two nights at Larchside. I picked it because of the great tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed.

The house is immaculate and looks and feels brand new, even though I think Carol told us it was at least 5-6 years old by now. Carol and Martin were warm, welcoming and very helpful upon our arrival.

Our rooms were spotless, comfortably appointed, and had great views. I had the room that is not the en-suite, but it was not a problem. I had a private bathroom (with a wonderful shower and a great skylight) and they provide the guests staying in that room with a white, terry bathrobe for use when walking down the hall back and forth to the room.

Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. Carol bakes her own bread and her fresh fruit in the morning is truly something to look forward to. The wonderful aromas coming from the kitchen each night when we arrived back at the house made it feel even more homey.

If there is a drawback to Larchside, it would be the location for some folks. It was fine for us. I enjoyed the peace and quiet of the country and selected it because of its quiet location. However, if you are someone who wants to be able to walk to Portree, it would be a bit of a hike -- especially in rainy weather.

I don't think that you would get a better value for your money in Portree than Larchside. I will highly recommend it to anyone I know who is visiting Skye.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

There is lot of accomodation in Portree ( and high demand) Avoid the overpriced hotels and B & B's near the harbour. Larchside is a bit of a drive out of the town but well worth it with a lovely view over the fields to the town. A walk along the road at night we saw a hare and a hedgehog. The room was an excellent size plus ensuite and satellite TV. Lovely host provided excellent breakfast on a communal table but prefferred a set time which can be annoying if you want to start early or sleep in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Larchside B&B on May 30, 2011. We stayed in a room which did not have an en-suite bath, but had a private bath which was located in the hallway. Initially I was concerned about booking a room without an en-suite bath, but it was not an issue and the host provided a bath robe for bathroom trips during the night and morning. Larchside is a brand new home that was just constructed a few years ago. The entire home is immaculate. The bathroom was very large with a beautiful bath/shower combo and large window which provided great natural light. The hosts made a delicious Scottish breakfast which we truly enjoyed. Our favorite was the wonderful fruit salad. The one negative is the location. It is not in walking distance of town. It’s about a 5-7 minute drive. It was not an issue as we only stayed one night, but had we stayed longer it might have been nice to be in walking distance of the main center.

P.S. Our GPS was not able to find the B&B. We continued on the road from the main center and kept driving. We finally found a sign on the road that directed us to turn left, then we kept driving until we found another sign and the B&B on the right. (There were a few times my husband and I thought we had gone too far, but just keep going and you will find it.)

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed at Larchside for our 4 night stay on Skye. We received a warm welcome and were made very comfortable as soon as we arrived. Our room was very clean and homely with loads of wardbrobe and draw space. Breakfast was good and gave us a great start to the day. Carol is very knowledgable about the area and gave us some good tips on places to visit. The only slightly negative is the distance from town, it is a long 2miles and just a little too far out to walk, but this aside we had a great time and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakleaf2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Carol and Martin are wonderful hosts and we are happy we stayed there. If we return to Skye, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embolism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
1.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
490 reviews
1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 97 in Portree
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larchside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larchside Bed and Breakfast

Address: Achachork | Achachork, Portree IV51 9HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range: $30 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Larchside Bed And Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing