We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and disappointing”
Review of Viewmount

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viewmount
Ranked #48 of 92 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expensive and disappointing”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were booked into this B&B by our tour company Timberbush. it proved to be quite expensive (much dearer than Edinburgh).
Unfortunately we had asked for twin beds but this consisted of a double room with a single fold up bed put into the room. There was no bedside table or reading lamp for the second bed. When we asked for a proper bed for an adult they provided us with a blow up bed!
The next night they put us into another room with proper beds in the main house. This was an improvement but still no bedside table or reading lamp for the other bed.
For breakfast we were given specific times as there was insufficient seating for the whole house.
Overall the staff were friendly and the service was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    24
    21
    12
See reviews for
57
82
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Very nice room with large bathroom. Clean and well appointed. Plumbing quirky but worked! 10 min walk to town. Owners were helpful and very friendly. Wifi available but was patchy in room. Better in lounge room downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caganah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

the hotel is 10 min walking from the centre of portree. Offering very good conditions for B&B hotel. The owners are very nice people. They do not accept credit cards. For two days stay it is perfect. Please mind that without reservation it is almost impossible to have dinner in Portree best restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0rpius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I left Scotland at 16yrs old. My husband surprised me with a trip to my homeland 46yrs later! This is one of the best places we stayed!! They are wonderful people, very caring, very aware of making your stay the best they can make it for you! They provided all the food I have missed over the years and the Scotish charm I remember!! Thankyou Christine for such a wonderful memorable visit!!!

Anne and Tom Stewart

Room Tip: There is no pool, but I checked excellent so they would have the full excellent they deserve. Any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family4fenelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our very first B&B styled accomodation and we are truly happy.
We stayed in the Woodside accomodation and occupied the top floor- 2 family rooms.
The host was very friendly, and I remembered Mr Ian saying that, if needed just lock your own room and they will keep the main door open all the time. It is that safe! just loved that.

Breakfast was lovely, english breakfast with toast, summer fruits, yogurt, juice, cereals, coffee/tea. Visited their kitchen when making payment on the last day... I have to say it is just a perfect place to have coffee and chat.

The rooms was really beautiful and clean. It was also cleaned on the next day, which was a plus point. The guesthouse is heated, so it created a warmth environment... which was a blessing from the chilly weather.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miki122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

You get what you pay for - it's affordable, no-frills, comfortable accommodation located a short walk south of Portree centre. I found both owners to be very lovely. There are 2 buildings - the main house and a cottage next door. I stayed in the cottage which meant breakfast was not included. I'm not an early morning person anyway so that did not bother me. The heating is turned off overnight which was not a problem during my stay as it was quite warm. The rooms are en suite with a neat shower, towels and soap (only) provided, along with a hair dryer and closet space. Unfortunately there is no safe in the room so I had to lock up my bag before leaving. I was assured there is no crime in Skye but being from the city it's difficult to be that trusting. Bed was not the most comfortable but it was manageable. Bed was made and the room was cleaned daily, with biscuits and tea making facilities provided. Ample parking. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Try to acquire a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This B&B is located on the southern edge of Portree (5-7 minutes of easily walk). The room (for 3 people) was very clean but I expected better furniture. Heating was On during our visit in July, 2012, so inside temperature was comfortable. The room smelled with some detergent/cleanser. Breakfast is Ok (full English) but is served in a relatively small room shared with other guests, so you will need to share your table with others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 92 in Portree
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peinmore House by Portree
Peinmore House by Portree
#21 of 92 in Portree
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#12 of 92 in Portree
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount

Property: Viewmount
Address: Viewmount 51 Highland, Isle Of Skye IV Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Viewmount Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing