We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tongadale Hotel
Ranked #48 of 93 Portree B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent location”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here on business and location and cost are excellent (although if you have a car etc. it's a lottery getting parked immediately outside but there are other places to park within a 5 min walk). The room with en suite was an adequate size with basic facilities, but more importantly the room was clean. The furniture/ decor is dated throughout the hotel and blink and you will miss "reception" (it's located in the bar FYI), but you do get a feel of what travellers inns must have been like in the past, it has that feel about it which I quite liked. Breakfast was good (cereal, porridge and cooked breakfast all on offer) but I didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner nor did I see a menu. Staff were polite if not overly friendly. All of which contributed to a good experience that was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms to the second floor and to the back away from the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbu 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    59
    14
    12
See reviews for
37
57
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

having just returned from touring Scotland (20 middle aged motorcyclists )me and the boys have nothing but praise for this hotel,this was our 2nd nights stay having travelled from Oban,(falls of lora hotel ) the hotel is is a great location of portree ,the harbour is only a stones throw away,the rooms are basic but comfortable, the staff are very friendly , the food good, i would recommend this hotel for £35 b&b its great value for money,(remember in life ,you pay for what you get) as a one nights stop over in my opinion it was a fantastic night,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

not a big menu but great food with nothing over ten pounds for a main course. had the chicken breast main couurse which was perfect. great value for families on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the past year and can't understand where the reviewer who complained about the place being dirty and smelly was! certainly not in the same hotel. I have always found the Tongadale to be clean , and for the price I paid ,good value. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful .Ok maybe she was looking for something more upmarket , for the price charged here what was she looking for? a trendy boutique .I wouldn't have thought she would have found one of them in Portree or anywhere else without paying a whole lot more.I am sure people will make up their own minds about where they want to stay without reading and paying attention to some stupid rant at least that's what I think of this review , and I'am sure I would not be the only person of this opinion.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed a couple of night at this Hotel.Small rooms, but not any of all, if you want bigger room pay more! Simple! These rooms are comfortable, clean and nice.The Staff nice also.For this money is perfect this accomodation!
The lady,who commented before me,probably a POSH one. I know this type.So everyone don't listen it.This Hotel is perfectly good. if you wanna stay in Portree a few nights!:):)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed for one night. Allowed to see room before deciding. Room was comfortable and decently furnished and ensuite. Spotlessly clean and supplied with the usual tea, coffee and kettle. Small portable tv also in room. Breakfast was to order, full Scottish plus choice of cereal, preserves, toast. Can't fault it at this price point.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellididntknowthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Didn't stay here,and as a Hotel it would not be my choice---it caters for tourist trips and i find with the prices they charged,you are never going to get a great deal more than functionality.
But,for Pub Food and REALLY friendly staff and locals it's a great place to have a few drinks--there beer is well looked after.
Also a great atmosphere.
It's really surprising that despite the small frontage it has 50 rooms-----ie it is geared for value Coach trips!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.0 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#7 of 22 in Portree
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 93 in Portree
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongadale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongadale Hotel

Property: The Tongadale Hotel
Address: Wentworth Street, Portree IV51 9EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tongadale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tongadale Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing