We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and dedicated to the improvisation lovers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lower Deck

The Lower Deck
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good and dedicated to the improvisation lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I love to improvise when I am on holiday. I hate those places where you need to reserve the day before... Lower Deck is perfect, they do not take resa... The food and the service are good, too! Just stand in line enjoying the harbour view and you'll get your table and meal in no time. Choice of beers is the only negative point - very poor

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lysianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    180
    98
    37
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, amazing food a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal, great soup and salmon. The restaurant is always full and they don't take bookings so you just have to be there at 6pm when they open for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Roxana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but over priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This restaurant had the highest rating, but was not the best experience we had in Portree. Food was delicious, but overpriced in my opinion. They do not accept reservations, but seat people on a first come, first served basis.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomnrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I really wonder what is happening when I read reviews on here that seem to bear no relation to my experience. The aggressively-negative comments about abysmal food and service could not be further from the truth as far as my wife and I were concerned, and after talking to a local about this, I am wondering if there could be some business rivalry behind it all.

We went here after noticing they did not take reservations and seeing a small queue outside just before 6. We decided it should be good if people were prepared to wait, so went in at 6. By 6.40 pm it was full.

The 3 waitresses on duty were all excellent, experienced, and anxious to please. The food was top-notch, clearly cooked from scratch and very tasty. We did not feel at all rushed, though as soon as anyone left, their table would be cleared and people waiting outside would be ushered in.

To say the food was warmed-up produce from the Co-op nearby is ridiculous, and to say the polite and friendly waitresses were rude is equally so. No one HAS to wait outside, they are perfectly free to eat elsewhere, though we were glad our B&B had recommended we go there at 6 to be sure of a table immediately.

All in all, we found this an excellent place to eat and feel somewhat suspicious of the negative reviews.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
“Horrific food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere but terrible food. Worst of all was the surf'n'turf which was no more than mackerel from the co-op microwaved and dumped on two slices of cheap black pudding. Portree offers much better than this and you'd be well advised to head elsewhere than this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david105105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lower Deck also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Lower Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing