We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy place but good service still...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lower Deck

The Lower Deck
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
SG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Busy place but good service still...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family of 3 dined there as we were not able to get into Seabreeze - they could only give us a table at 9pm, and it was only 6pm then.

The Lower Deck is probably the only restaurant in that area which does not taking booking for dinner. We were asked to wait outside for the next available table - we waited for 45min for one. When we finally got in, we were glad the service ain't as bad as the rest mentioned. There's only 2 waiting staff on the floor, so you can imagine. But once you get their attention, you will know that they are really polite and trying their best.

The seafood of the day was Monk Fish - I find it a tad too fishy for me. Maybe its just the way the fish is. The portion of sea bream look significantly smaller compared to the other!

A pity that they do not have a child's menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BevisSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    180
    99
    37
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to the attached fish & chip takeaway place they run next door. I was gob smacked when ordering a battered sausage and chips, the bloke pulled out a Matterssons pork sausage from the fridge to plonk in the fryer (with no attempt to even hide the packaging!). We'd also ordered a portion of mushy peas and these too came from a can (again, poured out in front of us!) - fluorescent green and processed.

I certainly would not recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Got in just before it filled up!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

After struggling to get parked on Saturday in Portree we checked out a couple of places as we were not planning on eating in Portree but plans changed!

Im glad i didnt read some of the comments before visiting or i probably wouldnt of gone!!

But we cant fault the place - i had a really nice helping of fish and chips and she had the salmon which i tried a bit of and it tasted amazing!

The food was served pretty quick and roasting hot (2 things i would complain about if they werent!)

By 6:20pm the place was full and people were getting turned away!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ss1design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor quality food and very overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The fish and chips and smoked mackerel were very poor quality. The mackerel was dry and looked to be the smallest fish that could be found. The beans were beyond al dente but almpst raw and cold. The horseradish potato was quite nice and a good accompaniment to the fish. My wife's fish and chips had all the characteristics as having been frozen. The chips were processed potato which at prices charged was a rip off.

The cranachan was appalling. It was a glass of either very poor stale real cream or a synthetic mix of creams and a microscopic amount of un toasted oatmeal/Drambuie and 3 raspberries. What an insult to this great dessert. This was the worst I have ever been served.

This is an establishment that takes advantage of the popularity of Portree and shortage of places.
at which to eat after 7.00 pm. on a Saturday night.

Service was good

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could do better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

One wet day in May,7 ladies wanting to lunch and being told ( not asked) to wait outside whilst tables were cleared. Staff were then very slow to clear tables and didnt appear to want our custom. We tried again and were told they werent ready but got lucky on the 3rd attempt when they grudgingly sorted out a couple of tables for us. The waitresses were all very miserable and could do with some customer service training to improve this experience. Food was OK but the service will have to improve if they expect a tip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lower Deck also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Lower Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing