We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour View”
Review of Harbour View Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Harbour View Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Harbour View”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Brilliant selection of seafood, including hague, salmon, cullen skink, and mussels. My husband and I both enjoyed all of the above dishes. There whole menu sounded amazing so much so that we went back the following night to try more dishes. The staff were very helpful!! Interesting selection of wines, local beers, port and local whisky. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    115
    36
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely seafood restaurant”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Managed to book out the whole restaurant for dinner with our 18 people private tour. The weather was poor that day, which meant there were no prawns on the menu, but the rest of the food was delightful. Service was great, and happy to go there again next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthonyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood platter”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was a busy night in Portree, and were getting concerned we would not be able to get a seat for dinner - we lucked out - passing the entrance for this very small dining room just as a table was being vacated. It was near the door, but once we were inside it mattered none.

And then once you are seated in the cozy dining room, order a bottle of wine, the soup, and the seafood platter (for two). We started with the chowder to ward off any remaining chills. Then we were surprised, plesantly so, that some of the items on the platter were hot and some were cold! Mussels, scallops, salmon two ways (smoked and not), prawns (cold), all fresh, beautifully presented, plentiful and delicious!

If you are going to Portree don't take your chances - get a reservation for this amazing - but small - place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeONsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very good restaurant which was quiet at this time of the year (November) but gets very busy. I had the muscles for my main which were excellent

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent local seafood”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ate here on Thursday and had great meal, both had scallops then I had muscles while girlfriend had the hake. Came to 55 including drinks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuart27ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour View Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing