We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quiraing Guest House
Ranked #74 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are 2 friends travelling together so we booked a room with 2 beds. The manager showed us to a room with a small single bed. When we noticed the errorr, the manager was very rude, said it wasn't her fault and there was nothing else available. While my friend used the washroom, the manager rudely insisted that I take the tour myself immediately. When I asked her how to turn on the electric fireplace, she replied "no, all the rooms are heated". We knew that we wouldn't be able to sleep together on such a small bed, so we left our luggage and booked another hotel.

When we tried to move our luggage, our key didn't work. The manager asked if we had the wrong key. We explained that we only received one key and it didn't work. She couldn't open the door. She called her husband and he couldn't open the door. Eventually they found the right key. Before we moved to the new hotel the manager said there was nothing else available and she couldn't help us.

While our tour guide confirmed the mistake was made, the manager is refusing to compensate us in any way. It feels discouraging and all the confusion is unneccessary.

Room Tip: If you request 2 beds, you might expect to receive 1 small bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carlasimon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

recently stayed on a short break. Room and en-suite were spotless and bed very comfortable.
Room was warm (which was very welcome as weather took a turn for the worse).
Good size car park at rear.
Breakfast was a little early 7.30 to 8.30 but was worth getting up for, good choice, well presented and very tasty.
Hostess Christine and her husband Hugh were very welcoming and attentive to our needs. Have absolutelt no problems recommending this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My friend and I joined a tour of the Isle of Skye and clearly stated we needed separate rooms, however we somehow got a room with a very small double bed, not the best choice for two girls that are NOT a couple. When I pointed this out to the hostess, her solution was to rush off and get the booking slip to tell us that this is not her fault. When I asked if there was another option she said that there was a twin room but for the one night only and this would not solve the problem.

Tired and fed up, I went to the washroom to clean up and she proceeded to insist that my friend join her in the "lounge" for some type of introduction, she was very rude when my friend requested we wait for me and clearly told her this was not an option.

In the end we booked another room in town and came back to get our bags- now our room door did not open!! We had to get the hostile hostess again - she tries the door and tell us the door is already open, very strange as it seems to be stuck?? When it became clear that the door would not unlock she tell us we have the wrong key, where we would have gotten this other key is a mystery to me.

The long and the short of it is that she and her husband(?) finally managed to break into the room with some other key, then insisted we wait while she phones the tour company, our cab was gone at this point and we finaly arrived at our new sleepting quarters drenched at 10:30 pm in the evening - phew, vacation is relaxing is it not?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VanTourist_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Recently spent a couple of nights in a guest house that surely should be called 'Heaven'. From the moment we arrived the welcome could not have been warmer. Christine and her husband, Hugh, took more than enough time to settle us in. The rooms we were appointed were spotlessly clean, the service, better than any hotel I have ever stayed at ( and I have travelled worldwide). The breakfast, which you pre-book the evening before from a great selection, was more than enough to satisfy the greatest appetite. Would loved to have stayed longer but sadly the weather was against us (tail end of a hurricane, and accompying rain). No doubt about it, come the summer, we will return. Thank you again, Christine and Hughie. Staying at your guest house was the highlight of our tour around Scotland. P.S. Staying in hotels in Edinbrough, Inverness, and Glasgow cost us a lot more than the Quiraing and were well below par compared to the Quiraing.

Room Tip: Should anyone be thinking of visiting the beautiful Isle of Skye, treat yourself by staying at the Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnMichaelEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband & I are on a tour of Scotland and stayed for 3 nights at Quiraing. Our host was a lovely lady - she was efficient and friendly without being intrusive. We had a nice room and although a little on the small side - the bed was very comfortable so this more than compensated for it. Our room was spotlessly clean too, as was the ensuite. There was the bonus of a large comfortable resident lounge leading on from the spacious dining room. Breakfast was a little early for us from 7.30am to 8.30am but we realise many people prefer an early start. The breakfast was generous and good with plenty of choice. As for location - it was perfect. A good carpark area to the rear of the B&B and it was just a short walk into town. ac Overall this was an excellent place to stay and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our trip around Scotland holiday. We had been camping for the first 2 nights before we got to Skye and this Guest House had everything we needed. It's in a great location, not even a 5 minute walk into the centre of Portree which has plenty of restaurants to choose from! Also great base point for exploring all that Skye has to offer! As for the accommodation itself, maybe the decor is a bit outdated, but it didn't bother us at all, and the breakfast definitely made up for it! The owner of the Guest house was very helpful and pointed out some landmarks to go and visit while we were there. Overall a great experience and would definitely return.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Christine is a very efficient host but very formal. Good rooms with nice tartan themed furnishings. Breakfast is between 730 to 830 am and choice fairly limited especially as we are veggies. Little or no vegetables on the menu. Very near town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajanbhawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Givendale Guest House
Givendale Guest House
#61 of 99 in Portree
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#4 of 21 in Portree
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#15 of 99 in Portree
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tongadale Hotel
The Tongadale Hotel
#40 of 99 in Portree
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#45 of 99 in Portree
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quiraing Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quiraing Guest House

Property: Quiraing Guest House
Address: Quiraing Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Quiraing Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing