We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest and most helpful owner we have ever met.”
Review of Saucy Marys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saucy Marys Lodge
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendliest and most helpful owner we have ever met.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice and comfortable BnB. What made it even more special is the restaurant next to the lodge. Excellent food, and value for money, with lovely local beer to go with our dinner.
Owner was very friendly and helpful. Room and bed were comfortable and clean. Breakfast on the morning was great as well.
My family of four had a great experience at this BNB, which is also the first ever that we have stayed in all our travels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OonCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    68
    42
    68
See reviews for
46
70
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A cosy bar and lively atmosphere was followed by a piping in of the New Year by a local boy in full dress. A good atmosphere good food and very comfortable accommodation in the Guest House. We had the Haggis and it was amazing. Thank you Saucy Marys

Room Tip: The Guest House rooms are outstanding! Ask for the Guest House for more luxury and comfort although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Right in the heart of Winter this lively Bar/Restaurant offers a tasty menu. I had the pork loin one night and the Vegetable Tagine the next! It is a hostel with clean tidy rooms and ours had a sea view! The weather was wet byut the bar has a real fire and we enjoyed toasting our toes with some malt whiskies.If you are looking for a budget break then this is just the ticket on Skye and there are other rooms with bathrooms but we decided to keep it real and spend the money on food and drink.

Room Tip: Room 6 was a great room for four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2012

we arrived and were presented with a warm room with an amazing seaview, and wi-fi was freely vailable throughout the hostel. the bar was friendly and featured a real fire, there was a fabulously cooked meal (we had the fish and chips and the fresh prawns) but there was plenty of choice even though it was winter. The beer was good and the service really mnore than you would expect. We thoroughly recommend this little jewel. The area is a good stopping point for a trip around Skye and the scenery is totally awesome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainRider647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

this hostel is far too overpriced. the bathrooms were dirty and showers are very old and crappy.
the linen on the beds leaves a lot to be desired.
there is no common room and they will not allow you to sit in the sunroom as its attached to the bar. that meant eating dinner outside in the freezing cold. kitchen was unequipped and so small that only 2/3 people can use it at one time
the staff were quite unfriendly and not at all welcoming.
overall... find somewhere else!! this place is rubbish!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Way over priced, poor kitchen and wifi, no common room & we were not aloud to eat in the sun room as it is part of the bar so we had to have our dinner out side in the cold, the staff were not friendly, I do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angus93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The place is very small the kitchens were only big enough for three people to cook. The wifi is free yes... If you can get a signal.... I had to sit on the stairs to try and get some. The Staff were rude, uncompromising and generally made my stay uncomfortable... It is way overpriced for what it is worth.... Do not stay really not worth it, you should definatly try somewhere else.... Even a park bench would be better

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesters-call
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
3.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
352 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saucy Marys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saucy Marys Lodge

Property: Saucy Marys Lodge
Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Saucy Marys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saucy Marys Lodge Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing