We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff and unpalatable food”
Review of Saucy Marys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saucy Marys Lodge
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was visiting the restaurant along with some friends from India. The food portions were child size (and no, I am not a big eater at all !). Not to mention totally unpalatable. When you feed this back to staff, they were in fact uncourteous to say the least and said that this was the norm ! Stay away from such cheats.........The ladies toilet was filthy too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasaadborkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Some of the recent reviews for this place have been poor to say the least. Staff were very friendly rooms were more than adequate and meals were top class for the style of venue. Weather was poor when we were there with a touring group but all the same it is more than fine. Recommended for Skye.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was a bit worried about staying here as some of the reviews aren't great, but it was better than I'd expected. We actually stayed in the guest house next door, but it's run by the same people. The room was clean but very tiny and the ensuite bathroom was behind a roll back door (I thought it was a cupboard!) The room was really hot because it was at the top of the house and we didn't dare open the skylight because of the clouds of midges there were everywhere (obviously not the owner's fault!).
We stayed for two nights and although the bins were emptied, the beds weren't made, which seemed a bit strange. Toiletries and hot drinks (tea, coffee and hot chocolate) were provided.
We had the full breakfast next door, which was very good.
The free wireless was a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Besides the sea, this cozy lodge house. On the ground floor is a pub with music some evenings. We were warmly met and got a room on the second floor. Both the room and bathroom was clean and nice. Breakfast to be better than expected, although the usual.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roland k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The rooms were tiny, 5 of us were crammed into one very small room with 2 sets of bunk beds and a single. Although we did have an en suite bathroom, it wasn't clean and it was so cramped (very hard to get changed in). The bedding hadn't been washed in a long time and the slip you were given to sleep in (which I expected to be cleaned) had brown stains all over it, was ripped down the sides and a fresh orange stain near the top. The pillow was infested with some biting creature, because my head itched so badly the day after. There was also a mystery wet patch on the floor. There were so many doors to get in the place, it was like a maze! And you could only use some of them at certain times :S The customer service was so poor, we left well before check out just to get away! If you're looking for something to cheer you up after a dismal stay at Saucy Mary's, I'd try Harry's Cafe down the road, the food is actually cooked properly and the staff put a smile on your face.
Bottom line: its about as classy as the name suggests. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enrique0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unluckyguy, Owner at Saucy Marys Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We are of course concerned that you did not enjoy your stay, but we have 22000 people staying with us annually and only a handful seek to expedite their complaints as you have done. If you were concerned about the linen then this could have been brought to our attention while you were here and we would have done something about it, the biting insects are the famous west coast midges and unfortunately they exist across western Scotland and we are not responsible for them. You refer to the size of the room and the presence of bunk beds as though you were not expecting them - I would guess that you may have thought you were booking a small hotel and so as a hostel we cannot be compared. We have taken your comments seriously and where approrpiate will seek to improve standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Didn't like this hostel!
Showers smelt terrible! Bugs in sink! Free wifi which did not work! Rude customer service! Private room had bunks. Curtains did not even shut! Over priced. Seemed like they were out to take advantage of the tourists.

Room Tip: Couples specify if you want a bed to share because we got bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unluckyguy, Owner at Saucy Marys Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Prawns are served in their shells all over the world and are a particular delicasy of the west coast of Scotland and there is a picture on our menu. We serve over 1000 meals a week and get virtually no complaints and plenty of praise. I will leave readers to determine the value of comments such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The rooms weren't great- absolutely tiny. Paid £50 for one night for a twin room. Old wooden bunk beds that looked like they'd been made in children's woodwork classes! Covered in graffiti, some of it offensive. Had dinner at the pub and after all the hype it was pretty offensive. Had the prawns which weren't even shelled and didn't taste that great. Wifi didn't work the first few times I tried to connect. Our room was situated near a window which had garbage outside so at about 5am a flock of birds were really loud waking us up. Shower was out of order but no sign so got undressed and into shower before realising. If u are independent traveller on a budget and just staying the one night it will probably be ok. Not horrific but wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
0.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
0 mi away
Winkle hall
Winkle hall
#2 of 3 in Kyleakin
8 reviews
0 mi away
Witchwood House
Witchwood House
#10 of 11 in Kyleakin
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saucy Marys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saucy Marys Lodge

Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range: $32 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Saucy Marys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saucy Marys Lodge Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing