We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting Skye Scotland”
Review of Saucy Marys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saucy Marys Lodge
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting Skye Scotland”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Besides the sea, this cozy lodge house. On the ground floor is a pub with music some evenings. We were warmly met and got a room on the second floor. Both the room and bathroom was clean and nice. Breakfast to be better than expected, although the usual.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roland k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    68
    42
    68
See reviews for
46
70
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The rooms were tiny, 5 of us were crammed into one very small room with 2 sets of bunk beds and a single. Although we did have an en suite bathroom, it wasn't clean and it was so cramped (very hard to get changed in). The bedding hadn't been washed in a long time and the slip you were given to sleep in (which I expected to be cleaned) had brown stains all over it, was ripped down the sides and a fresh orange stain near the top. The pillow was infested with some biting creature, because my head itched so badly the day after. There was also a mystery wet patch on the floor. There were so many doors to get in the place, it was like a maze! And you could only use some of them at certain times :S The customer service was so poor, we left well before check out just to get away! If you're looking for something to cheer you up after a dismal stay at Saucy Mary's, I'd try Harry's Cafe down the road, the food is actually cooked properly and the staff put a smile on your face.
Bottom line: its about as classy as the name suggests. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enrique0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unluckyguy, Owner at Saucy Marys Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are of course concerned that you did not enjoy your stay, but we have 22000 people staying with us annually and only a handful seek to expedite their complaints as you have done. If you were concerned about the linen then this could have been brought to our attention while you were here and we would have done something about it, the biting insects are the famous west coast midges and unfortunately they exist across western Scotland and we are not responsible for them. You refer to the size of the room and the presence of bunk beds as though you were not expecting them - I would guess that you may have thought you were booking a small hotel and so as a hostel we cannot be compared. We have taken your comments seriously and where approrpiate will seek to improve standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Didn't like this hostel!
Showers smelt terrible! Bugs in sink! Free wifi which did not work! Rude customer service! Private room had bunks. Curtains did not even shut! Over priced. Seemed like they were out to take advantage of the tourists.

Room Tip: Couples specify if you want a bed to share because we got bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unluckyguy, Owner at Saucy Marys Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Prawns are served in their shells all over the world and are a particular delicasy of the west coast of Scotland and there is a picture on our menu. We serve over 1000 meals a week and get virtually no complaints and plenty of praise. I will leave readers to determine the value of comments such as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The rooms weren't great- absolutely tiny. Paid £50 for one night for a twin room. Old wooden bunk beds that looked like they'd been made in children's woodwork classes! Covered in graffiti, some of it offensive. Had dinner at the pub and after all the hype it was pretty offensive. Had the prawns which weren't even shelled and didn't taste that great. Wifi didn't work the first few times I tried to connect. Our room was situated near a window which had garbage outside so at about 5am a flock of birds were really loud waking us up. Shower was out of order but no sign so got undressed and into shower before realising. If u are independent traveller on a budget and just staying the one night it will probably be ok. Not horrific but wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Really enjoyed my two nights at Saucy Marys, the room was basic and the sheets were weird but the staff were lovely. Unfortunately they mis-recorded whether I'd paid my deposit for my room key and were reluctant to give me my deposit back, but apart from that it was a great stay. The restaurant was also good with live music on both nights!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fra92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I really liked this hostel a few things were a bit dated but the staff and atmosphere totally made up for it! Excellent location would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahloo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This year we had No 3 - if you could call something only a little larger than a cupboard a room.

The only light was from a Velux window and you couldn't open it because there was no screen against the midges, so all the heat from the house was concentrated into it. There was no room for a table and chair, but the worst thing was the failure to clean the room or change the coffee cups during our stay.

The larger rooms - fine - but the smaller ones should be locked out of use.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
3.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
352 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saucy Marys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saucy Marys Lodge

Property: Saucy Marys Lodge
Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Saucy Marys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saucy Marys Lodge Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing