We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blairdhu House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blairdhu House
Ranked #4 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

We were warmly greeted & quickly shown to our spacious & comfortable room. The B&B is in a great location with great views especially from the guest lounge/breakfast room, it's very easy to find from the bridge & is only five minutes walk into Kyleakin & it's lively pub Saucy Mary's. There was a large choice for Breakfast, all of which was well cooked. Great restaurant recommendations by the host. We really enjoyed our stay & wished we'd booked another night here rather than at another Skye B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    36
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
81
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Our room had the best view of the house, over Kyleakin, the Kyle of Lochalsh and beyond to the Five Sisters. We too saw deer, heron, and other birds from our bedroom window. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean, the lounge was a lovely place to relax in, complete with binoculars to check out the wildlife, and breakfast was excellent, well presented with a range of local produce. It was a pleasant walk down into Kyleakin, and over the bridge. We had one very local day when we did the forest walk just behind the house, then walked into Kyleakin to visit the Bright Water centre, and finished with the guided walk on Eilean Ban. All without using the car! Although just over the bridge, this was a good location for exploring Skye, probably a little quieter than Portree.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

What a beautiful place this is. I must say my husband and I enjoyed Blairdhu House so much, we are returning again this year in August. We only stayed two days last year, this year we are staying for four. The rooms have everything you need, great big comfy beds, beautiful bathrooms. Fiona the host was very nice and very friendly. When we arrived she could not do enough for us, Fiona really made this a home from home for us. So Fiona you deserve your 4 stars and more. Blairdhu is not your normal bed and breakfast it is like a small luxury hotel!! I was reading one of the coments from people from Albany all I can say is they must be talking about somewhere else thats for sure because I only have one bad coment to make and that is "we had to leave."

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 020300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

We were a bit surprised at first arriving at the Blairdhu. Visit Scotland informed us that it was a four star establishment, so we expected a hotel, or a big mansion or whatever. Actually, it was a pretty standard modern bungalow in a residential area.

That said, the welcome was friendly. We were quickly left to our own devices and we didn't at all feel that we were staying in someone's house. The bedrooms were great and the living room very spacious and well equipped. Breakfast was also very good with a full range on offer including mackerel and kippers.

The only let down was Visit Scotland. When we paid the bill at the Blairdhu we were informed that the Visit Scotland fee was nothing to do with them and the full fee for the B&B had still to be paid. Something to watch out for next time.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank dabooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Blairdhu House for 3 nights in May 2008. We were blessed with excellent weather which certainly made our holiday even better. We found the accommodation excellent as was the owner Fiona - she was very accommodating and breakfast was a delight. Our room overlooked the estuary and we were lucky enough to see heron and deer just below us.

There was a slight mix up on the cost of the accommodation but Fiona made an instant refund on my debit card. Would definitely recommend (and already have) to others.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the accommodation
  • Disliked — Our stay wasnt long enough!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettyboo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

I have thought hard about writing this report as our 44 days in the UK & Ireland are full of wonderful memories but in fairness to others I will explain our problems with Blairdhu. We booked for 3 nights and arrived about noon. Knowing this was too early we decided to call in just to drop our suitcases off and then go for a drive. When the owner opened the door she became angry and yelled "you can't book in until 4pm". I was gobsmacked. I attempted to explain we only wanted to leave the bags but she was quite worked up and would not listen. Eventually we were allowed to leave the cases but it left us wondering why we should stay there. On our drive we decided to tell her we would only stay one night and find something else. When I spoke to her she said that she had our credit card details and she would charge us for the 3 nights. The B & B was not full so we were not losing her any bookings. I was very unhappy with this attitude but agreed to a compromise of 2 nights but she remained very cool toward us. As far as the place itself. We have continental breakfasts and in this case it comprised only cereal, juice, toast & yoghurt. No fruit. The room was quite nice although small.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank enob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed here 2 nights. The view from the kitchen room/sitting room was wonderful. Breakfast was great. The room was very comfortable, quiet and clean.

  • Liked — view
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
8.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
30.3 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
11.2 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
19.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blairdhu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairdhu House

Property: Blairdhu House
Address: Blairdhu House Old Kyle Farm Road, Kyleakin IV41 8PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blairdhu House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blairdhu House is situated amongst the most spectacular scenery offering panoramic views. An ideal base to visit the Isle of Skye, 2 minutes from the Skye Bridge. STB award 4 star Guest House. All rooms en-suite. Free Wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Blairdhu House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blairdhu House Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing