We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!!!”
Review of Blairdhu House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blairdhu House
Ranked #4 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have stayed at many B&Bs over the years, this one rates among the best. Breakfast was delicious with homemade bread, muffins, (the blueberry muffins were so good) lots of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, cheeses, and lots more, you could also choose something from the menu, which had a variety of dishes on offer. Rooms are immaculate, comfortable and very modern. The host was so helpful and kind, recommending some fabulous restaurants that we would never have found on our own. This is a lovely place with excellent decor which is modern yet retains a sense of character. Lovely artworks, comfy sofas and quirky ornaments make it a homely place to stay. Residents Lounge and dining area have the most spectacular view, and when the tide comes in it reaches right to the bottom of the garden.
Easy parking close to the main entrance. Hotels and pub within walking distance. Ideal place to base yourself while visiting the Island.
We even saw a pine martin, this was a truly exciting experience as I had never seen one before, the owner told us it has been visiting every night for over a year. We really enjoyed our stay here and cannot compliment it enough. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: There is a room with the most amazing and beautiful view that I have ever woken up to! Cannot rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and had the bedroom over the dining room / lounge. The view was really super overlooking the Kyle with mountains as a background. Like other reviewers, we too saw the deer and the herons, along with a baby badger on the patio. The bedroom was very well furnished and bed was very comfortable. The walk-in wardrobe was a delight with lots of hanging and draw space. The instant chocolate on the courtesy tray was enjoyable too. The shower in the en-suite was a little cosy for me, but others would find it OK together with the toiletries supplied.

The breakfasts were all superb (my wife having smoked salmon one morning) being all freshly cooked and quite generous. That was after the cereals, juice, croissants and fresh muffins (wish i'd had the room to try one) as well as plenty of toast. All this with a wonderful view as from our room. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had a very pleasant two-night stay at Blairdhu House. The room was impeccably clean, very modern with en suite bathroom and a comfy bed. Ironically, it was the best wi-fi connection we had during our entire 2-week stay in Scotland (who'd have thought?). The breakfast was delicious with hot and cold options. I would definitely recommend it as a base to head out and explore the Isle of Skye. Bear in mind, however, that Blairdhu House is right after you cross the bridge, so you are not in walking distance to any amenities (this was not a problem for us, but it is helpful to know; plan any needed stops at the store beforehand). Also, there is a charge for paying with a credit card so you will want to go to an ATM abefore you cross the Skye Bridge or at Portree, should you wish to pay cash. But these are minor details; Blairdhu House was very comfortable and great value overall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Our room was very well equipped with a TV and coffee/tea etc. The shower and wc were ensuite, clean and modern. The bedroom furniture was leather covered which appeared strange but was practical. The bed was comfortable with one soft pillow and one hard pillow each. The TV had been set up in French and we had to retune it but it then worked ok.

Breakfast was in a clean dining room overlooking a lovely view with a large TV showing the morning news. Breakfast was comprehensive with freshly baked muffins, croissants and cereals with the scottish breakfast. Salmon and scrambled eggs was available. All in all good value at £75.00. We paid cash although Credit Cards could be used with a 3% surcharge. Our hostess was very welcoming, told us what we needed to know and then left us to it, after telling us how to summon her if we needed to. There was good information on the local area in the room on where to eat etc. She also offered to book a local restaurant in Plockton for us. We did it ourselves and were very happy with the meal we had there. It was a shame the weather was so appalling

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemeloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I have just returned from a superb 6 night stay at Blairdhu House. From the moment I arrived there was a nice casual feel to it all and it was easy to feel relaxed and welcome. The room was very nice, a twin with leather beds and a modern shower room and all the things you'd expect from a 4 star facility, hairdrier, flat screen tv, coffee/tea/chocolate facilities etc. Behind another door was a handy large sized wardrobe area with a 3 drawer chest. All in all the room was a pleasure to be in, though i spent most of my time out and about, The view from the dining room and terrace is beautiful. Looking over the river, beyond the herons that always seem to be on show, the eye is led through the village of Kyleakin and past the ruined Castle to the distant mountains that so perfectly line the horizon. The food at breakfast was of a high standard, kippers, mackerel, smoked salmon all being locally sourced, and the sausage, bacon and egg was also selected from high quality sources. Yoghurts, fruit juices, home made croissants and muffins and porridge complimented the choices at breakfast and everything I sampled was delicious. The owner (Fiona) was very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. I would have no problem in recommending this guest house. Kyleakin is situated at the southern end of the Island of Skye, but it was easy to get around the whole Island from here. Excellent stuff!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice, rooms 4,5 and 6 are upstais
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhantomSnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were a bit worried about this place as we usually stay in hotels. As it happened we were very pleasantly surprised. The owner was very welcoming but not intrusive, she showed us to our room, advised us on times for breakfast etc., and left us to it but told us how we could get hold of her if we needed to. The room was small but very cosy and extremely clean. The bathroom was a good size and likewise very clean. The breakfast room was very comfortable, it had a nice ambience and was large without being impersonal. From the window was an amazing view. In all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_S500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

It is true that there is a wonderful view from the lounge at Blairdhu but wonderful views in Scotland are easily come by.
Its location photograph implies an isolated bungalow when it is actually located in a residential area; our room was tiny; the walls very thin so that you could hear every creak and our bed so extremely uncomfortable so that we slept very badly; breakfast was unimaginative and included long-life yoghurt and very thin coffee. In our tiny bathroom we ran out of toilet paper. Yes we could have asked but we really shouldn't have had to. Fortunately there was a box of tissues. When we came to pay we were told that we couldn't pay by card because the machine was broken and we had to drive into Kyle of Lochalsh to a cash till and back. There was a notice on the reception table about this but we hadn't noticed it and no one pointed it out.
If the owner had seemed even remotely interested in us as guests then I probably wouldn't have written all this - but she seemed very distracted. All in all it was not a happy experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scherzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyleakin hotels
0.6 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#5 of 11 in Kyleakin
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Witchwood House
Witchwood House
#10 of 11 in Kyleakin
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
289 reviews
0 mi away
Winkle hall
Winkle hall
#2 of 3 in Kyleakin
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blairdhu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairdhu House

Address: Blairdhu House Old Kyle Farm Road, Kyleakin IV41 8PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range: $338 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blairdhu House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blairdhu House is situated amongst the most spectacular scenery offering panoramic views. An ideal base to visit the Isle of Skye, 2 minutes from the Skye Bridge. STB award 4 star Guest House. All rooms en-suite. Free Wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blairdhu House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blairdhu House Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing