We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
55
56
41
22
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
56
41
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenbunk bedscheap breakfastnice loungeginger catsmall feesconestwo nightsliving roomsmall villagesky bridgeother guestsfree wifiopen firesmall roomnight staycaravan
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 197 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Although there was my first time in a hostel, I can say absolutely that Skye Backpackers Hostel is a very hospital and nice place to stay! I spent two night in this hostel and I had the opportunity to know the polite and friendly staff and my companions of room. It was an amazing experience! The kitchen also is nice and useful, however sometimes it was overcrowded...but I suppose it is normal for an hostel! Thanks to Skye Backpackers Hostel and its stuff for the beautiful experience!
Saluti!!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Federico Ghigo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We stayed at the hostel for 2 nights. The hostel was doable. The beds were clean. And the people working there are really nice.
It's old and shabby. The shower is small, but like I said it was doable. It was not like we were at the hostel 24/7, when we were there the staff was nice and very helpful.

Sidenote: The cat, is the best! It's the neighbors cat but the cat loves the hostel very much, so it visits the hostel daily.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Thank you for your review,
We know hostel looks old, so that´s why this winter we´re refurbishing it! : )
Hopefully you´ll be back at some point to see all the changes.

ps - We loved your comment about Hemmy, the cat; he conquers everyones heart haha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Hostel was a real let down in comparison to other hostels in the chain. We were really looking forward to staying here after seeing the pictures and staying at the fort William backpackers (a sister site).
Although brightly coloured, with a nice lounge and lovely staff, the building itself is really worn down. There was mould on our window and our light was a bare bulb with its wires showing. The dorm beds didn't have mattresses, just weird foam things. The kitchen had large chunks of the linoleum missing.
All in all it needs a lot of work, even for a hostel.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Charley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Thank you for your review.
Sorry to hear you didn´t enjoy our hostel as much as Fort William one.
As being a chain, we can only repair and refurbish a hostel at the time. Luckily Fort William hostel got it done last winter and this winter is out turn! : ) So Skye will be looking great and new very soon! We hope to see you next season so you can tell us how you liked it.
Regards from the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is a deeply unpleasant place to be. Its location is not ideal for getting around the isle (even with a rental car, which is an absolute necessity on Skye) or for having fun. It was crowded, we stayed in a damp trailer that required us to go outside to reach a toilet, and they have only a fraction of the toilets and showers needed for the number of people they pack in. It's not even that cheap all things considered. Stay here if you don't have any other choices, I guess.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2016

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hostel.
Sorry to hear you didn´t enjoy though!
Kyleakin is considered a good stopping point over night or as it´s the first town after crossing Skye Bridge or as a camp base, to go around the island when there´s more time to explore. Usually people really like it, sorry you didn´t.
The caravans can feel more damp if it´s been raining outside ( which this summer it has happend more often) and if people come with wet clothes and shoes after hikking.
Our caravans are consider our basic dorm, that´s wy they are cheaper. Price is between 10 and 14 pounds per person, per night depends on the year; in summer time of course, price is higher.
We hope you come back to us after this winter refurbishment and you like it better : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

I stayed there for one night. I felt well welcomed and at reception the staff told me places to visit. The rooms where fine, and with enough toilets and showers. The kitchen/dining room is a bit busy because is not very big. At r

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etg112016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2016

Thank you for yor review.
Great to know our staff gave you a hand organising your visit aroud Skye .
Aye....our kitchen is quite spacious but it gets full very easily, it´s considered a good meeting point in the hostel : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews